Lee Child

Lee Child

Lee Child was born in Coventry and spent his childhood in Birmingham. Academically bright, he was awarded a scholarship and went to the same school that JRR Tolkien attended, before heading to university. Lee studied law but never become a lawyer. Instead, he worked in theatre and then in television on programmes including Brideshead Revisited, Prime Suspect and Cracker. After many years working as a presentation director at Granada Television, he was made redundant in 1995 after a corporate restructure. This was a blessing in disguise, as it was at this point of his life, aged 40, that he began writing

Lee had always been an avid reader and 18 years in TV had taught him how to tell a story, so this sudden change in career didn't faze him. He created the character Jack Reacher and wrote the first book in the series which he called Killing Floor. His debut novel was an instant hit with readers and his fan-base has grown ever since. As well as numerous novels, Lee has written a number of short stories and has won various awards. In 1998, Lee Child moved to the US where he still lives with his wife, Jane. They also have a grown-up daughter, Ruth.

Jump down to:

Lee Child Top Release - Never Go Back | 

Our favourite Lee Child Books 

Lee Child

Never Go Back

Former military cop Jack Reacher is back and has made the epic journey from South Dakota to Virginia. He is heading for the HQ of his old unit, the 110th Military Police, to meet the new commanding officer, Major Susan Turner. When he arrives, however, Susan is not at her desk. The unit is the closest thing Jack has to a home, but things are not as they should be.

He is told Susan has gone to Afghanistan, but in fact she has been arrested and Jack is in trouble too – having been wrongly accused of murder and told he is back in the army again. Jack finds himself in jail, along with Susan, but they soon escape and are on the run. As well as being wanted by the police it soon becomes apparent that there are other people out to get them, too. As their journey progresses, so do the revelations.

Available now in Paperback and Kobo eBook.

Our Favourite Lee Child Books