The Valley Spirit: A Female Story of Daoist Cultivation (2nd)

The Valley Spirit: A Female Story of Daoist Cultivation (2nd)

By: Lindsey Wei (author)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£11.95 RRP £12.99  You save £1.04 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A young American-Chinese seeker after truth, Lindsey Wei is drawn to the ancient Wudang Mountains on a quest to understand her ancestral roots and discover the hidden knowledge of Daoist martial arts, healing and spiritual wisdom. Determined to prove herself a worthy and dedicated disciple, she has to battle against her own earthly desires, the seduction of powerful Daoist Masters and the dark side of modern Chinese society to realize her true inner strength. A unique personal account, this book follows Lindsey's journey with the eccentric and enigmatic Li Shi Fu, a hermetic Daoist recluse, as she overcomes the challenges that block her path and establishes herself as an exemplary student of the internal arts. A true story, this book describes the living experience of a profoundly sincere, bitter and ultimately liberating female quest. It will be of interest to anyone who has ever pondered the true meaning of Chinese wisdom and the Dao De Jing, or practices meditation and yoga in the hope of discovering a deeper strength within themselves.

Create a review

About Author

Lindsey Wei is a disciple of Li Shi Fu in a traditional Daoist lineage which stretches back thousands of years. She divides her time between living as a renounced practitioner in Wudang Mountain and teaching a select group of students in North America.


A Note on Translations, Scriptures and Phonetics.; Prologue.; 1. Guan Yin Hears Me.; 2. Finding a True Teacher.; 3. Li Shi Fu.; 4. Axis of the Universe.; 5. Day by Day.; 6. Emmalina's Story.; 7. Seven Star Sword and Eight Step Pure Yang.; 8. Chun Yang Men.; 9. Great Gong and Life Cultivation.; 10. Dogma.; 11. The Sea of Suffering (Selfish Love).; 12. Becoming a Whole Woman (Snake and Bird).; 13. Pigs and Fishes.; 14. Flight of the Phoenix.; 15. Take Refuge.; 16. Elders.; 17. Healing.; 18. Train of Desire.; 19. Internal Alchemy.; Epilogue: Grinding the Needle.; Sources.

Product Details

  • publication date: 15/01/2013
  • ISBN13: 9781848191310
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 208
  • ID: 9781848191310
  • weight: 404
  • ISBN10: 1848191316
  • edition: 2nd

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly