david Mitchell

David Mitchell

David Mitchell was born in Southport in the North West of England before moving to Worcestershire where he was brought up. He studied English and American Literature at the University of Kent before completing a masters in comparative literature. In total, David has published five novels with a sixth due in the autumn of 2014. In 2007, Time magazine named David Mitchell as one of the most influential novelists in the world. His first novel, Ghostwritten, was published in 1999 and received significant critical acclaim. It was awarded the Mail on Sunday / John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and was shortlisted for the Guardian First Book Award.

David's subsequent novels, Number9dream and Cloud Atlas were both shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Cloud Atlas won six awards before being turned into a Hollywood film starring Halle Berry and Tom Hanks. David's sixth novel, Black Swan Green, was published in 2006 and is semi-autobiographical. The novel's 13 chapters each represent one month of the year surrounding a 13 year-old boy with a speech disorder, growing up in Worcestershire between 1982 and 1983.

David is a patron of the British Stammering Association as he has a stammer himself. He says writing Black Swan Green helped him to confront his stammer. After living in Japan, David has settled in County Cork, Ireland with his wife and two children.

David Mitchell

Slade House

Born out of the short story David Mitchell published on Twitter in 2014 and inhabiting the same universe as his latest bestselling novel The Bone Clocks, this is the perfect book to curl up with on a dark and stormy night. Turn down Slade Alley - narrow, dank and easy to miss, even when you're looking for it. Find the small black iron door set into the right-hand wall. No handle, no keyhole, but at your touch it swings open. Enter the sunlit garden of an old house that doesn't quite make sense; too grand for the shabby neighbourhood, too large for the space it occupies. A stranger greets you by name and invites you inside. At first, you won't want to leave. Later, you'll find that you can't. This unnerving, taut and intricately-woven tale by one of our most original and bewitching writers begins in 1979 and reaches its turbulent conclusion around Hallowe'en 2015. Because every nine years, on the last Saturday of October, a 'guest' is summoned to Slade House. But why have they been chosen, by whom and for what purpose? The answers are in the long attic, at the top of the stairs...

Available now in Hardback and Kobo eBook.

Our Favourite David Mitchell Books