Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan

Born in Aldershot in 1948, Ian McEwan went on to study English Literature at the University of Sussex, and later graduated from the University of East Anglia with a Master's degree in the same subject. He began writing novels that have won him decades of global critical acclaim. He received the Somerset Maugham Award in 1976 for his first collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites. For his novel The Child in Time, Ian also won many awards, including Germany's Shakespeare Prize in 1999. In 2000, he was awarded a CBE and in 2002, his novel Atonement received the WHSmith Literary Award, among others. Since then, Ian has received awards for many of his novels, especially for his books Saturday (2005), On Chesil Beach (2007) and Sweet Tooth (2012). He currently lives and writes in London. For more information about Ian McEwan, visit his official website: www.ianmcewan.com

Jump down to:

Ian McEwan Top Release - The Children Act | 

Our favourite Ian McEwan Books 

Ian McEwan

The Children Act

The Children Act is Ian McEwan's latest gripping novel, and this one is based around Fiona Maye - a leading High Court judge in London. Fiona is a professional, successful, sensitive and highly intelligent family lawyer. At home, however, things are different. Her 37-year marriage to Jack is in crisis, and she has a lingering regret of not having had children. She decides to throw herself into her work, which brings her to a complex case surrounding a 17-year-old boy, Adam. With everything going for him, Adam is refusing to have treatment that could save his life due to religious beliefs. And his devout parents agree. The pressure to resolve this case, as well as her failing marriage, will emotionally test Fiona, stirring long-buried feelings.

Children Act will have the reader guessing the momentous consequences until the very last page.

Order now in Paperback, Hardback and Kobo eBook.

Our Favourite Ian McEwan Books