Explore the Book Club further over on the blog!

Get your children excited about reading with the Tom Fletcher Book Club, exclusive to WHSmith. Tom has hand-picked 10 great titles, perfect for children aged between 7-11 to get them engaged with reading and talking about books.

One of Tom's great picks is Kid Normal which is a laugh-out-loud comedy series from BBC 1 Radio presenters Greg James and Chris Smith. When Murph Cooper rocks up to his new school several weeks into the beginning of term, he can't help but feel a bit out of his depth. And it's not because he's worried about where to sit or what lunch box to bring, it's because his mum accidentally enrolled him at a school for superheroes! The other students in the class are busy flying around, casting spells and controlling the weather, while Murph has no superpowers whatsoever.

Murph soon learns that you don't need to have superpowers to save the day, it's time for Kid Normal to become a hero. To find out how Kid Normal comes to the rescue, order the book here or explore some of the additional content and extracts of the book we have over on our blog.

Tom's favourite quote from the book: "There’s a kid in the final year called Barry Talbot who can make his teeth scream. What use is that? It frightens the dentist, I suppose."

A Place Called Perfect is a wonderful and compelling debut novel from Helena Duggan about a girl named Violet who has moved to a place called 'Perfect' and hates it. She wonders, why is it so different here? Why does everyone have to wear special glasses to stop them going blind? What are the strange noises in the night?.. and why is Mum acting so weird?!

When Violet's Dad disappears, she is determined to uncover the truth about this weird place. With the help from mysterious 'Boy' she soon realises that her dad might not be the only person to have vanished in this so-called Perfect place.

This is a gripping book about bravery, friendship and mystery, the perfect title to add to your bookshelf, but be careful... they've got their eyes on you. You can buy the book here or explore some of the additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Frank Cottrell Boyce is the award-winning author of Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth, based on a boy called Prez who is living in a foster home over the summer.. but doesn't talk.

One day Prez is visited by a strange boy named Sputnik, who strolls straight into the home, where the family bizarrely react by patting him on the head, calling him a good boy and dropping food down to him on the floor. It seems like everyone thinks Sputnik is dog, everyone except from him. Prez soon finds himself having to defend the family from the chaos and danger unleashed by Sputnik, as household items come to life - like a TV remote that fast-forwards people. It turns out that Sputnik is writing a guidebook to Earth called Ten Things Worth Doing on Earth, and he takes Prez on a journey to discover those ten things.

Will Prez have to use his voice to explain himself? Discover more about Prez and Sputnik's adventures by buying the book here or exploring the additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Clarice Bean loves reading the adventures of Ruby Redfort, an ace girl detective and secret undercover agent. Ruby is always going on exciting missions, but all Clarice gets to do is go to the local shop on her own.

When Clarice and her best friend, Betty Moody, decide to do their school project on the Ruby Redfort books, they suddenly start finding mysteries everywhere. Like why are all the coats on the wrong hooks at school? Where has Grandad disappeared to? And just what is going on in the garden shed? When Betty goes missing Clarice gets paired up with the school's problem child, but that's the least of her problems...

Buy the book here to find out more about the mysteries that Clarice is trying to solve and whether she is successful, and explore the additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Perfect for fans of creepy crawlies and nature, Beetle Boy mixes adventure, mystery and science into a wonderful and interesting story about a character called Darkus. Darkus is miserable. He is an orphan whose father disappeared under mysterious circumstances and has been sent to live with his uncle and cousins, with the most disgusting neighbours EVER.

A giant beetle called Baxter comes to his rescue. But can the two solve the mystery of his dad's disappearance, especially when links emerge to cruel Lucretia Cutter and her fondness for beetle jewellery? A coffee-mug mountain, home to a million insects, could provide the answer - if Darkus and Baxter are brave enough to find it.

Will Darkus overcome his fears? Who will help him find his father? Buy the book here or explore additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Full of magical mishaps, ridiculous riddles and peculiar powers, Witch Wars mixes friendship, loyalty and...cheese soup? to create a fun read for all.

When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim's shed to tell her she's a witch, Tiga doesn't believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH and magics her away down the drainpipes to compete in Witch Wars - the competition to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City.

To learn the silly spells and ridiculous riddles get your hands, or wands, on the book here or explore the additional content and extracts of the book we have over on our blog.

Tom's favourite quote from the book: "'You can come back any time,’ Fran said with a smile, 'apart from on Wednesdays. This room doesn’t exist on Wednesdays'".

Perfect for lovers of comic books, Dog Man has been created by the author of the popular Captain Underpants series and is funny enough to get the kids rolling on the floor laughing.

Displayed as a full-colour graphic novel, George and Harold, having survived all of the adventures involving Captain Underpants, go through their old things to discover their first comics. They go back and change them, making the pictures better, correcting some of the spelling mistakes, and present a handful of adventures of Dog Man a superhero cop with the head of a dog and the body of a human. Dog Man is a real heroic hound who has a real nose for justice.

You can buy the book here or explore additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Perfect for readers of Roald Dahl, Mr Gum is a complete horror who hates children, animals, fun and corn on the cob...and this book's all about him. And an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub. And Jake the dog, and a little girl called Polly and an evil, stinky butcher all covered in guts.

Mr Gum lives in a disgusting house where "he slept, scowled, and picked his nose and ate it." ...BUT "Mr Gum had to keep the garden tidy because otherwise an angry fairy would appear in his bathtub and start whacking him with a frying pan. (You see, there’s always a simple explanation for things.)" -Tom's favourite quote from the book!

For an irresistible laugh out loud story buy the book here or explore some of the additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Containing space, superheroes and science fiction, My Brother is a Superhero is fantastic, funny and engaging book for all. Luke is a comic-mad eleven-year old who shares a treehouse with his geeky older brother, Zack. Luke' s only mistake is to go for a wee right at the wrong time. While he' s gone, an alien gives his undeserving, never-read-a-comic-in-his-life brother superpowers and then tells him to save the universe.

Luke is massively annoyed about this, but when Zack is kidnapped by his arch-nemesis, Luke and his friends have only five days to find him and save the world.

To find out if Luke saves the worlds you can buy the book here or explore additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

Tom said "If you want funny, read this book. If you want silly, read this book. If you want food, eat this book…actually, it’s probably best you don’t eat it." Barry Loser is a book about a boy called Barry who has the unfortunate last name of Loser. He had never really minded his name, as he was always so cool that it cancelled it out, but ever since Darren Darrenofski joined school with his horrible little crocodile face, he thinks Darren has been ruining his life about it.

To follow Barry as he tries throw off his loserness and take revenge on the terrible Fronkle-burping Darren Darrenofski you can buy the book here or explore additional content and extracts of the book over on our blog.

 
Close