The NEW Tom Fletcher Book Club Bundle Only £34.99

Bestselling children’s author Tom Fletcher is back with his second book club exclusive to WHSmith! Tom has selected 10 more brilliant books for 7 to 11-year olds to get them exciting and talking about reading, offering a wide variety of titles by both established and debut authors.

Aimed at encouraging the love of reading across the UK, the Book Club is also proud to assist teachers with online resource packs available to download, as well as launching a writing competition in partnership with Teach Primary where entrants are invited to send in their stories based on any of Tom's book club titles (and the winner will receive £2,000 worth of books for their school!)

To find out more about the exciting extras and activities involved in the Tom Fletcher Book Club 2 head over to the WHSmith Blog.

Dylan has always wanted a superpower, especially since his brother and sister have got really awesome ones. But when his wish finally comes true, Dylan is royally cheesed off. For Dylan has become ... Iguana Boy. He can talk to Iguanas...RUBBISH!

And when super villain Celina Shufflebottom kidnaps all the superheroes in London, Dylan must work out how to use his new team of chatty iguanas to save the day. He's going to have to think outside the box, (the pizza box), if he's going to become the hero he's always dreamed of.

Tom: "I found myself laughing out loud once at the silliness of James’ imagination and I think you’ll love it too. I mean, reptiles, super-heroes and pizza…I wish I’d written this book!"

Click here to find out more and buy the book

`I can get a new brother? On the internet?' Jonny muttered. `Oh sweet mangoes of heaven!' Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another - but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with SiblingSwap.com! What could be better than someone awesome to replace Ted, Jonny's obnoxious older brother.

But finding the perfect brother isn't easy, as Jonny discovers when Sibling Swap sends him a line of increasingly bizarre replacements: first a merboy, then a brother raised by meerkats, and then the ghost of Henry the Eighth! What's coming next?! ... Maybe his brother doesn't seem too bad after all.

Tom: "As a father of two boys, I found this title hilarious and the words inside are just as good! Such a brilliant concept that anyone with a sibling will definitely be able to relate to."

Click here to find out more and buy the book

Archie McBudge has just inherited a fortune. And a huge house. And...a chocolate factory! End of story. Happily ever after right? WRONG! Life's not all bubblegum and jelly beans at the McBudge Confectionary Company. Something's going on. Something suspicious, supernatural... sinister.

If Archie can't solve the mystery the factory will be shut down and his sweet future will melt away like a scoop of quadruple choc-mint ripple in the sun. Fans of How to Train Your Dragon and Tilly and the Time Machine will be hungry for this delicious mystery full of weird clues, strange creatures, malevolent relatives and lots and lots of SWEETS!

Tom: "If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end."

Click here to find out more and buy the book

If you can read this, you obviously understand Pigeonese. Therefore you may read the book of Dave Pigeon. Dave Pigeon is the incredibly heroic story of how the bravest pigeon of all pigeonkind defeated Mean Cat. Join Dave and his sidekick Skicker on their quest to defeat the most evil cat in town. There are funny bits, scary bits... and biscuity bits. Cats beware!

Tom: "Well, I never thought I’d read a book written by a pigeon, let alone include it in my book club, but here it is and it’s awesome! Dave and his “trusty typer-upper” Skipper give us an insight into the daring lives of two pigeons as they plot to defeat Mean Cat after she takes a swipe at them. It’s a tale of friendship that is full of laughs (and biscuits) and is brilliantly brought to life with hilarious illustrations. I can’t wait to discover what happens next!"

Click here to find out more and buy the book

Meet Ermine, a small stoat on a big journey. She may be small but she's on a big journey around the world and is determined to fill her scrapbook with tales of adventure. Armed with her toolkit and feathered hat, Ermine arrives in New York to stay with Michael Megabucks and his son - and is soon fighting off alligators at Central Park Zoo and outwitting bungling diamond thieves!

Tom: "The world’s biggest diamond, two bumbling burglars and one charming weasel…sorry, I mean – Stoat! – called Ermine. I loved this fun crime adventure, set in a wintery NYC, it has moments that would feel at home in a Home Alone movie and the brilliant illustrations really bring the story and characters to life creating a heart-warming world. A great book for chilling on the sofa on a rainy day."

Click here to find out more and buy the book

When Mabel Jones unknowingly commits 'The Deed' she finds herself swiftly bundled into a sack and carried off to the pirate ship the Feroshus Maggot. Crewed by the strangest bunch of pirates you would ever want to meet and captained by the dreaded Idryss Ebeneezer Split (a wolf with a false leg carved from a human thighbone, a rusty cutlass sheathed in his belt and a loaded pistol tucked in his pants with no fear of the consequences), the Feroshus Maggot whisks Mabel Jones off on the adventure of a lifetime.

Have you even been kidnapped by pirates in the middle of the night and forced to walk the Greasy Pole of Certain Death? Or challenged to a giant grizzly bear to a milk-drinking contest? Or gone on a dangerous quest in search of mysterious treasure? Whats that, you haven't!?

Tom: "Fast-paced, pirate awesomeness. This book has a treasure-chest-load of adventure that kept me guessing and dying to find out what was going to happen next."

Click here to find out more and buy the book

Buy the Tom Fletcher Book Club 2 Bundle of 10 books and be in with a chance to win a limited edition signed print from Mabel Jones illustrator Ross Collins

Welcome to The Nothing to See Here Hotel! A hotel for magical creatures, where weird is normal for Frankie Banister and his parents who run the hotel. When a goblin messenger arrives, announcing the imminent arrival of the goblin prince Grogbah, Frankie and his family rush into action to get ready for their important guest. But it soon becomes obvious that the Banister family are going to have their work cut out with the demanding prince and his never-ending entourage, especially when it turns out the rude little prince is hiding a secret...

This book is so good you won’t blunking believe it! It is full of disgusting creatures, set in a disgusting place and now it just needs to be read by someone disgusting…you’ll do nicely. Enjoy!

Click here to find out more and buy the book

Eleven-year-old Zach has magical powers, just like everyone in his family, but he's having trouble harnessing his abilities. To help his powers manifest, and to help him appreciate his natural gifts, Zach's parents decide that he needs to be around 'real' people more. No more homeschooling - it's time for Zach to enter the scary world of secondary school! But Zach can't resist a bit of magic...

A simple spell ends with him and his best friend stuck in a vending machine. Someone filmed it and by the next day he's gone viral on YouTube, in the process attracting the attention of Rachel, the prettiest girl at school. With everyone wondering how Zach does his tricks, and with head mean girl Trisha plotting to bring him down, Zach's got his work cut out if he's going to survive year 7 and keep his dreams of becoming a master magician intact.

Tom: "Zach King is totally unique and hard to describe. I think this is a brilliant way to engage a generation of touchscreen savvy kids and get them reading."

Click here to find out more and buy the book

With the My Magical Life app, you can bring the book to life in front of your eyes! Click here to find out more or download the app

The hilarious and ever-optimistic Timmy Failure books are perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Big Nate. Meet Timmy Failure, founder of the "best" detective agency in town - Total Failure, Inc. With the help of his polar bear, Total, the clueless, comically self-confident Timmy already has plans for world domination. Plans that will make his mother rich and unpaid bills a thing of the past. And plans that will defeat Corrina Corrina, "The One Whose Name Shall Not Be Uttered". But she's not going away. Riotously funny, Timmy Failure is sure to have readers in stitches.

Tom: "I picked this book up late one night thinking I would just read a few pages before bed then WHAM! I ended up reading the entire thing in one sitting while crying with laughter. I then went to bed and started giggling to myself thinking about it. It’s so brilliantly silly and witty in such an original way that I knew within a few pages that this was one for the book club!".

Click here to find out more and buy the book

Andy and Terry's have an amazing treehouse which has thirteen new levels! They've added a chocolate waterfall you can swim in, a volcano for toasting marshmallows, a bulldozer-battling level, a baby-dinosaur-petting zoo, a not-very-merry merry-go-round, a boxing elephant called the Trunkinator, an X-ray room, a disco with light-up dance floor, the world's scariest roller coaster and a top-secret thirty-ninth level which hasn't even been finished yet! But how can they enjoy all of this brilliant stuff when they have to write a book faster than they've ever done before? This laugh-out-loud story is told through a combination of text and fantastic cartoon-style illustrations, and if you love it, there are plenty of others in the series to get reading after too.

Tom: "This is the kind of book I would have LOVED as a kid. The writing style is effortless and really fast-paced; I guarantee you’ll be picking up the others as soon as you finish this one!".

Click here to find out more and buy the book

 
Close