A cappella (Vocal score)

A cappella (Vocal score)

By: John Gardner (editor), Simon Harris (editor)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£13.55 RRP £15.95  You save £2.40 (15%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A unique anthology which casts its net far and wide across seven centuries of unaccompanied European choral music, this book is a fascinating selection of thirty pieces, ideal for enterprising choirs looking for something out of the ordinary to enliven their repertoire. Diversity and eclecticism are the hallmarks of this stimulating collection: the pieces range from two to eight voices; from monuments of the Renaissance to miniature canons by Lawes, Schubert, and Brahms; from "Sumer is icumen in" to Stanford and Grieg. This is a truly European anthology, encompassing the music of composers from England, France, Spain, Norway, Italy, Germany, and the Netherlands. The contents are arranged chronologically, and though they include a few classics of the genre that no such survey can afford to ignore, the majority of pieces are unjustifiably lesser known. All are newly edited from their sources, at original pitch and in original note-values wherever practical; minimal editorial intervention allows this music to breathe afresh. There are notes on each piece, and prose translation for non-English texts.

About Author

John Gardner was born in Manchester and educated at Wellington College and Oxford University. After 6 years in the RAF, he joined the music staff of the Royal Opera House, leaving at the end of 1952 to pursue a freelance career as composer, teacher, pianist, and conductor. He has composed three symphonies, several large-scale cantatas, four operas, and a great variety of ensemble, solo and choral music as well as theatre music for the Old Vic and the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre, Stratford.


Miraculo d'amore ; Sumer is icumen in ; Wenn Kummer hatte zu toten Macht ; Christus factus est ; Laetentur coeli ; An den sturmwind ; Jesu, dulcis memoria ; Ave regina coelorum ; Ach herzigs Hers ; Dolcissima mia vita ; The Silver Swan ; Guds son har gjort mig fri ; Iubilate Deo ; Tod und Schlaf ; Lugebat David Absalon ; La nuit froide et sombre ; She weepeth sore ; Miraculous love's wounding ; Wo der perlender Wein ; Tri ciechi siamo ; Benedictus qui venit ; Hear my prayer, O Lord ; Lacrimoso son io ; Ich bin eine rufende Stimme ; Puisqu'en amour ; Beati qyorum via ; Der Kuckuck ; Gaudete omnes ; Los bracos traygo cansados ; Draw on, sweet night

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193361997
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 144
  • ID: 9780193361997
  • weight: 295
  • ISBN10: 019336199X
  • edition: Vocal score

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly