A Companion to Analytic Philosophy (Blackwell Companions to Philosophy)

A Companion to Analytic Philosophy (Blackwell Companions to Philosophy)

By: E. David Sosa (editor), A. P. Martinich (editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


A Companion to Analytic Philosophy is a comprehensive guide to over forty of the significant analytic philosophers from the last hundred years. The entries in this Companion are contributed by contemporary philosophers, including some of the most distinguished now living, such as Michael Dummett, Frank Jackson, P. M. S. Hacker, Israel Scheffler, John Searle, Ernest Sosa, and Robert Stalnaker. They discuss the arguments of influential figures in the history of analytic philosophy, among them Frege, Russell, Moore, Wittgenstein, and Quine. The articles on each philosopher provide clear and extensive analysis of profound and widely encountered concepts such as meaning, truth, knowledge, goodness, and the mind. This volume is a vital resource for anyone interested in analytic philosophy.

About Author

A. P. Martinich is Roy Allison Vaughan Centennial Professor of Philosophy at the University of Texas at Austin and the author or editor of ten books, most recently Hobbes: A Biography (1999) and The Philosophy of Language (fourth edition, 2001). He is vice-president of the board of directors of the Journal of the History of Philosophy. David Sosa is Associate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Texas at Austin. He is the co-editor, with A. P. Martinich, of the companion volume Analytic Philosophy: An Anthology (Blackwell, 2002).


List of Contributors. 1. Introduction: A.P. Martinich (University of Texas at Austin). 2. Gottlob Frege (1848-1925): Michael Dummett (Oxford University). 3. Bertrand Russell (1872-1970): Thomas Baldwin (University of York). 4. G. E. Moore (1873-1958): Ernest Sosa (Brown University and Rutgers University). 5. C. D. Broad (1887-1971): James van Cleve (Brown University). 6. Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889-1951): P.M.S. Hacker (St. John's College, Oxford University). 7. Rudolf Carnap (1891-1970): Sahotra Sarkar (University of Texas at Austin). 8. Karl Popper (1892-1994): W.H. Newton-Smith (Balliol College, Oxford University). 9. Gilbert Ryle (1900-1976): Avrum Stroll (University of California at San Diego). 10. Alfred Tarski (1902-1983), Alonzo Church (1903-1995), and Kurt Gidel (1906-1978): C. Anthony Anderson (University of California at Santa Barbara). 11. Frank Ramsey (1903-1930): Brad Armendt (Arizona State University). 12. Carl G. Hempel (1905-1997): Philip Kitcher (Columbia University). 13. Nelson Goodman (1906-1998): Israel Scheffler (Harvard University).14. H.L.A. Hart (1907-1992): Scott Shapiro (Yeshiva University). 15. Charles Stevenson (1908-1979): James Dreier (Brown University). 16. W.V. Quine (1908-): Peter Hylton (University of Illinois, Chicago). 17. A.J. Ayer (1910-1989): T.L.S. Sprigge (University of Edinburgh). 18. J.L. Austin (1911-1960): John R. Searle (University of California at Berkeley). 19. Norman Malcom (1911-1990): Carl Ginet (Cornell University). 20. Wilfrid Sellars (1912-1989): Jay F. Rosenberg (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill). 21. H.P. Grice (1913-1988): Stephen Neale (Rutgers University). 22. G.H. von Wright (1916-): Frederick Stoutland (St Olaf College and the University of Uppsala). 23. Roderick Chisholm (1916-1999): Richard Foley (New York University) and Dean Zimmerman (Syracuse University). 24. Donald Davidson (1917-): Ernest Lepore (Rutgers University). 25. G.E.M. Anscombe (1919-): Anselm Mller, (University of Trier, Germany). 26. R.M. Hare (1919-): Walter Sinnott-Armstrong (Dartmouth College). 27. P.F. Strawson (1919-): P.F. Snowdon (Exeter College, Oxford). 28. Philippa Foot (1920-): Gavin Lawrence (University of California, Los Angeles). 29. Ruth Barcan Marcus (1921-): Max Cresswell (Victoria University of Wellington). 30. John Rawls (1921-): Norman Daniels (Tufts University). 31. Thomas Kuhn (1922-): Richard Grandy (Rice University). 32. Michael Dummett (1925-): Alexander Miller (Cardiff University). 33. Hilary Putnam (1926-): John Heil (Davidson College). 34. David Armstong (1926-): Frank Jackson (Australian National University). 35. Noam Chomsky (1928-): Peter Ludlow (State University of New York, Stony Brook). 36. Richard Rorty (1931-): Michael Williams (Johns Hopkins University). 37. John Searle (1932-): A.P. Martinich (University of Texas at Austin). 38. Jerry Fodor (1935-): Georges Rey (University of Maryland, College Park). 39. Saul Kripke (1940-) : David Sosa (University of Texas at Austin). 40. David Lewis (1941-): Robert Stalnaker (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780631214151
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 512
  • ID: 9780631214151
  • weight: 774
  • ISBN10: 0631214151

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly