A Dreamer of Pictures: Neil Young: The Man and His Music

A Dreamer of Pictures: Neil Young: The Man and His Music

By: David Downing (author)Paperback

More than 4 weeks availability


Neil Young is arguably the only rock performer and songwriter whose work has retained the respect of a large following while gaining the allegiance of new generations. He has demonstrated a unique ability to combine commercial success with a willful experimentation. His music has encompassed almost every American popular style, from folk to metal, from rockabilly to punk, from rhythm and blues to country; and it is his restless pursuit of new challenges that has led on the one hand to his recognition as one of the few stars who refuses to "sell out," and on the other hand to his being sued by his record company for making albums that were not "characteristic of Neil Young." In A Dreamer of Pictures, David Downing paints an illuminating and entertaining portrait of this contradictory and enigmatic figure. Here we see his childhood in Canada and his first forays into musicmaking; his ups and downs with Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, and Nash, and Crazy Horse; the privations and excesses of life on the road; his unconventional filmmaking and fundraising ventures; his often absurd political pronouncements; his two marriages; his involvement with his younger son's therapy to combat cerebral palsy; and his continuing musical evolution.Neil Young has taken rock beyond generational boundaries and has helped to establish it as a unique art form; A Dreamer of Pictures is thus a portrait not only of Young, but of rock itself.

Create a review

About Author

David Downing has been writing about rock music for more than twenty years. He has contributed innumerable features and reviews to various magazines and written four books on rock music. He is also the author of numerous film biographies, military histories, and works of fiction. He currently divides his time between Britain and the United States.


* All My Changes Were There * Before the Goldrush * Fur Coats and Persian Rugs * Harvest of Souls * The Unseen Homeland * Music from Another World * This Feedbacks for You * Audio Vrit * Discography

Product Details

  • publication date: 01/03/1995
  • ISBN13: 9780306806117
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9780306806117
  • weight: 297
  • ISBN10: 0306806118

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly