A Handbook to Twentieth-Century Musical Sketches

A Handbook to Twentieth-Century Musical Sketches

By: Friedemann Sallis (editor), Patricia Hall (editor)Paperback

4 - 6 days availability

£29.09 RRP £29.99  You save £0.90 (3%) With FREE Saver Delivery


This indispensable handbook, first published in 2004, explains how scholars and students should work with and think about the composer's working manuscripts. This book surveys the knowledge necessary to work efficiently in archives and libraries housing this material and with the skills and techniques specifically related to sketch studies: transcription, reconstructing sketchbooks, deciphering handwriting, dating documents. It deals with the music of important twentieth-century composers and presents visual examples of manuscripts from the collections of world-renowned institutions such as the Paul Sacher Foundation. The book aims to make the work of both researchers and students more efficient and rewarding.

Create a review


Introduction Friedemann Sallis and Patricia Hall; 1. Sketches and sketching Giselher Schubert and Friedemann Sallis; 2. Preliminaries before visiting an archive Ulrich Mosch; 3. Archival etiquette Therese Muxeneder; 4. Coming to terms with the composer's working manuscripts Friedemann Sallis; 5. The classification of musical sketches exemplified in the catalogue of the Archivio Luigi Nono Erika Schaller; 6. Digital preservation of archival material William Koseluk; 7. Transcribing sketches Regina Busch; 8. A tale of two sketchbooks: reconstructing and deciphering Alban Berg's sketchbooks for Wozzeck Patricia Hall; 9. 'Written between the desk and the piano': dating Bela Bartok's sketches Laszlo Somfai; 10. Defining compositional process: idea and instrumentation in Igor Stravinsky's Ragtime (1918) and Pribaoutki (1915) Tomi Makela; 11. Floating hierarchies: organisation and composition in works by Pierre Boulez and Karlheinz Stockhausen during the 1950s Pascal Decroupet; 12. Elliot Carter's sketches: spiritual exercises and craftsmanship Denis Vermaelen; 13. E-Sketches: Brian Ferneyhough's use of computer assisted compositional tools Ross Feller; 14. John Cage's Williams Mix (1951-3): the restoration and new realizations of and variations on the first octophonic, surround-sound tape composition Larry Austin; Appendix. Select list of institutions housing manuscript collections of twentieth-century composers.

Product Details

  • publication date: 19/07/2012
  • ISBN13: 9781107405400
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 270
  • ID: 9781107405400
  • weight: 490
  • ISBN10: 1107405408

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly