A Hoosier Sampler: An Anthology of Indiana Writers

A Hoosier Sampler: An Anthology of Indiana Writers

By: James A. Huston (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability


In A Hoosier Sampler, James A. Huston provides a thorough compilation of the works of some of Indiana's most notable writers. Huston brings to the foreground such world renowned authors as Lew Wallace, Lloyd C. Douglas, Charles Major, Kurt Vonnegut, and James Whitcomb Riley among others, to produce a comprehensive volume of great works that provides the true flavor of each author's style as well as interesting, enjoyable, and instructive reading. Covering nearly every accomplished Indiana writer, this anthology will be of great use to students and professors of literature as well as the general reader.

Create a review

About Author

James W. Huston is a native of Fairmount, Indiana. He is a former History Professor at Purdue University and he is a former faculty member of the Naval War College and the National War College as well as Dean of Lynchburg College in Virginia.


Chapter 1 Lew Wallace, Ben Hur Chapter 2 Lloyd C. Douglas, The Robe Chapter 3 Charles Major, When Knighthood was in Flower Chapter 4 Rose Hartwick Thorpe, Curfew Must Not Ring Tonight Chapter 5 Maurice Thompson, Alice of Old Vincennes Chapter 6 James A. Huston, Counterpoint Chapter 7 Charles Major, The Bears of Blue River Chapter 8 Sarah T. Bolton, Poems Chapter 9 John Finley, The Hoosier's Nest Chapter 10 Kate and Virgil D. Boyles, The Hoosier Volunteer Chapter 11 Caroline Brown, Knights in Fustian Chapter 12 Jessamyn West, The Friendly Persuasion Chapter 13 James A. and Anne Marshall Huston, Violet Storm Chapter 14 Ross Lockridge, Jr., Raintree County Chapter 15 Edward Eggleston, The Hoosier Schoolmaster Chapter 16 Annie Fellows Johnston, The Little Colonel Chapter 17 Paul Dresser, On the Banks of the Wabash Chapter 18 Anna Nicholas, An Idyl of the Wabash Chapter 19 David Graham Phillips, The Great God Success Chapter 20 George Barr McCutcheon, Brewster's Millions Chapter 21 Meredith Nicholson, The House of a Thousand Candles Chapter 22 James Whitcomb Riley, Selected Poems Chapter 23 John T. McCutcheon, Injun Summer Chapter 24 Kin Hubbard, Abe Martin's Almanack Chapter 25 Gene Stratton-Porter, A Girl of the Limberlost Chapter 26 Helen Weston Wells, Saint Josephine Chapter 27 Leroy Scott, Counsel for the Defense Chapter 28 Booth Tarkington, Penrod, The Magnificent Ambersons, Alice Adams Chapter 29 Johnny Gruelle, Adventures of Raggedy Ann Chapter 30 George Ade, The College Widow, Nettie, The County Chairman Chapter 31 Leroy Scott, The Trail of Glory Chapter 32 Theodore Dreiser, An American Tragedy Chapter 33 Barton Rees Pogue, Selected Poems Chapter 34 Marguerite Young, Angel in the Forest Chapter 35 Kurt Vonnegut, Jr., Slaughterhouse-Five Chapter 36 Mary Jane Ward, The Snake Pit Chapter 37 Joseph Hayes, The Desperate Hours Chapter 38 Nelson Algren, The Man with the Golden Arm Chapter 39 Sheldon Vanauken, A Severe Mercy Chapter 40 Lynne Doyle, The Riddle of Genesis County Chapter 41 Rex Stout, The Final Deduction Chapter 42 William C. Gass, In the Heart of the Heart of the Country Chapter 43 James W. Huston, Balance of Power

Product Details

  • publication date: 01/03/2000
  • ISBN13: 9780761816140
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 608
  • ID: 9780761816140
  • weight: 776
  • ISBN10: 0761816143

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly