A Journey Through the Universe: Gresham Lectures on Astronomy

A Journey Through the Universe: Gresham Lectures on Astronomy

By: Ian Morison (author)Hardback

Only 1 in stock

£24.29 RRP £26.99  You save £2.70 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Providing an in-depth understanding both for general readers and astronomy enthusiasts, this highly comprehensive book provides an up-to-date survey of our knowledge of the Universe beyond Earth. The book explores our Solar System, its planets and other bodies; examines the Sun and how it and other stars evolve through their lifetimes; discusses the search for planets beyond our Solar System and how we might detect life on them; and highlights interesting objects found within our galaxy, the Milky Way. It also looks at our current understanding of the origin and evolution of the Universe, as well as many other intriguing topics, such as time, black holes and Einstein's theories, dark matter, dark energy and the Cosmic Microwave Background. The book is uniquely supported by video lectures given by the author, available online. It also includes the very latest astronomical observations, such as those made by the Planck and Kepler spacecraft.

Create a review

About Author

Ian Morison spent his professional career as a radio astronomer at the Jodrell Bank Observatory, and he has had an asteroid named in his honour in recognition for his work. In 2007 he was appointed Professor of Astronomy at Gresham College, the oldest chair of astronomy in the world. He writes a monthly online sky guide and audio podcast for the Jodrell Bank Observatory and is the author of numerous articles for the astronomical press and of a university astronomy textbook. His most recent book is An Amateur's Guide to Observing and Imaging the Heavens (Cambridge University Press, 2014).


1. Watchers of the skies; 2. Our Sun; 3. Aspects of our Solar System; 4. The rocky planets; 5. The hunt for Planet X; 6. Voyages to the outer planets; 7. Harbingers of doom; 8. Impact!; 9. 400 years of the telescope; 10. The family of stars; 11. Aging stars; 12. The search for other worlds; 13. Are we alone? The search for life beyond the Earth; 14. Our island Universe; 15. Wonders of the southern sky; 16: Proving Einstein right; 17. Black holes - no need to be afraid; 18. It's about time; 19. Hubble's heritage - the astronomer and the telescope that honours his name; 20. The violent Universe; 21. The invisible Universe: dark matter and dark energy; 22. The afterglow of creation; 23. To infinity and beyond; Index.

Product Details

  • publication date: 25/09/2014
  • ISBN13: 9781107073463
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 365
  • ID: 9781107073463
  • weight: 900
  • ISBN10: 1107073464

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly