A Romantic Sketchbook for Piano, Book III (Romantic Sketchbook for Piano (ABRSM))

A Romantic Sketchbook for Piano, Book III (Romantic Sketchbook for Piano (ABRSM))

By: Alan Jones (editor)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£8.00 RRP £8.25  You save £0.25 (3%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A Romantic Sketchbook for Piano explores the wealth of piano music from the Romantic period in five carefully graded albums. Mostly composed between 1830 and 1930, the pieces in these albums have been selected to introduce players to a wide range of music, from works by some of the leading Romantic composers, such as Schumann, Mendelssohn and Tchaikovsky, to unfamiliar pieces by lesser-known figures. Each volume presents a variety of keys, time signatures and textures within a comprehensive range of tempi, which will be invaluable to students in the development of their musical skills. Players will also respond imaginatively to the varying styles and moods offered in these colourful sketchbooks, from the lively dances and mood pictures to the tender songs and gentle serenades.


Study in E: No. 6 from 'The Wheel of Progress', Op. 74, Book 3 [Thomas Dunhill] ; Mazurka in F, Op. 68 No. 3 [Frederik Chopin] ; Waltz in Bb, Op. 39 No. 8 [Johannes Brahms] ; Piece in C sharp minor [Cesar Franck] ; Nalada, Op. 41 No. 54 [Zdenek Fibich] ; Miniature Pastoral No. 5 [Frank Bridge] ; Study in B, Op. 51 No. 47 [Lemoine] ; Sonnenschein in Flur und Hain, Op. 270 No. 7 [T. F Kirchner] ; Esquisse, Op. 47 No. 12 [Reinhold Gliere] ; Song of the Cavalry: from 30 Pieces for Children, Op. 27, No. 29 [Dmitri Kabalevsky] ; Kinderstuck, Op. 72 No. 3 [Felix Mendelssohn] ; Prelude in C minor, Op. 8 No. 1 [Pachulski] ; Jagdlied, Op. 39 No. 1 [MacDowell] ; Berceuse, Op. 8 No. 6 [Maikapar] ; Schlummerlied [Wolf] ; Build a Nest, from 'In the Branches' [O'Neill] ; Frohsinn, Op. 17 No. 6 [Max Reger] ; Midsummer Magic: No. 1 from 'Hunter's Moon' [William Alwyn] ; Study in E minor, Op. 29 No. 14 [Henri Bertini] ; Romanza: No. 7 from 'Aquarelles', Op. 19 [Niels Gade] ; Folk Song, Op. 73 No. 4 [Edvard Grieg] ; Prelude in G sharp minor, Op. 81 No. 12

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781854727176
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 48
  • ID: 9781854727176
  • weight: 188
  • ISBN10: 1854727176

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly