A. S. Byatt (New British Fiction)

A. S. Byatt (New British Fiction)

By: Mariadele Boccardi (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

£15.51 RRP £15.99  You save £0.48 (3%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


A. S. Byatt is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed contemporary writers. This new study provides a lively and detailed exploration of her fiction and non-fiction, and examines Byatt's work in the light of postmodern concerns with language, narrative and self-referentiality. Ideal for students and general readers alike, A. S. Byatt features: * a supporting timeline of key dates * biographical and cultural analysis of key texts such as Possession and the recent The Children's Book * discussion of the full range of Byatt's literary output, including her novels, short stories and critical writings * a survey of selected landmark interviews * a comprehensive overview of the critical reception of Byatt's work.

Create a review

About Author

MARIADELE BOCCARDI is Senior Lecturer in English at the University of the West of England, UK. Her publications include The Contemporary British Historical Novel: Representation, Nation, Empire (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009).


General Editors' Preface Acknowledgements PART I: INTRODUCTION Timeline Introduction: A. S. Byatt - A 'New' British Novelist? A Resistance to Biographical Readings: The Shadow of the Sun (1964) and The Game (1967) PART II: MAJOR WORKS Chronicles of Post-war England: The Virgin in the Garden (1978), Still Life (1985), Babel Tower (1996) and A Whistling Woman (2002) Victorian Echoes: Possession: A Romance (1990), Angels and Insects (1992) and The Biographer's Tale (2000) Colours, Textures and Narrative Patterns: A. S. Byatt's Short Stories Collections The Inexorable Movement of History: The Children's Book (2009) PART III: CRITICISM AND CONTEXT A Survey of Landmark Interviews Other Writings Critical Reception Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • publication date: 15/02/2013
  • ISBN13: 9780230275713
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 184
  • ID: 9780230275713
  • weight: 201
  • ISBN10: 0230275710

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly