A Shostakovich Casebook (Russian Music Studies)

A Shostakovich Casebook (Russian Music Studies)

By: Malcolm Hamrick Brown (editor)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

£25.21 RRP £25.99  You save £0.78 (3%) With FREE Saver Delivery


"The book...includes...valuable essays and interviews, which move beyond the scholarly controversy to sketch a nuanced picture of Shostakovich's life under a totalitarian regime...The 'Casebook' contributors compellingly warn of replacing one mask with another, one black-and-white myth with its simple inversion." -New York Times "...an important and readable collection...It presents a devastating critique of Volkov's claims and scholarly practices in Testimony." -New York Review of Books A Shostakovich Casebook brings together 25 essays, interviews, newspaper articles, and reviews-many newly available since the collapse of the Soviet Union-to create a volume of essential reading and cutting-edge scholarship in Russian music studies. The contributors include Malcolm H. Brown, Laurel Fay, Irina Antonovna Shostakovich, and Richard Taruskin.

Create a review

About Author

Malcolm Hamrick Brown, a world-renowned authority on Russian and Soviet music, is the founding editor of the Russian Music Studies series at Indiana University Press.


Introduction Part One 1. Shostakovich versus Volkov 2. Volkov's Testimony Reconsidered Part Two 3. A Side-by-Side Comparison of Texts from Testimony with Their Original Sources 4. A Pitiful Fake 5. The Bedbug 6. The Official Dossier 7. Notes from the Soviet Archives on Volkov's Testimony 8. An Episode in the Life of a Book 9. An Answer to Those Who Still Abuse Shostakovich 10. On Solomon Volkov and Testimony 11. The Regime and Vulgarity 12. Shostakovich's World is Our World 13. Shostakovich Remembered Part Three 14. A Link in the Chain 15. Aperspective on Soviet Musical Culture during the Lifetime of Shostakovich 16. The Latest "New Shostakovich" 17. Dialogues about Shostakovich Part Four 18. Ian MacDonald's The New Shostakovich 19. Elizabeth Wilson's Shostakovich 20. A Response to Papers by Allan Ho and Dmitri Feofanov 21. Whose Shostakovich? 22. The Shostakovich Variations 23. Shostakovich 24. Laurel Fay's Shostakovich 25. When Serious Music Mattered Selected Bibliography Contributors Index

Product Details

  • publication date: 17/08/2005
  • ISBN13: 9780253218230
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 424
  • ID: 9780253218230
  • weight: 649
  • ISBN10: 0253218233

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly