A Temporary Future: the Fiction of David Mitchell

A Temporary Future: the Fiction of David Mitchell

By: Patrick O'Donnell (author)Paperback

Only 2 in stock

£20.39 RRP £23.99  You save £3.60 (15%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


Having emerged as one the leading contemporary British writers, David Mitchell is rapidly taking his place amongst British novelists with the gravitas of an Ishiguro or a McEwan. Written for a wide constituency of readers of contemporary literature, A Temporary Future: The Fiction of David Mitchell explores Mitchell's main concerns-including those of identity, history, language, imperialism, childhood, the environment, and ethnicity-across the six novels published so far, as well as his protean ability to write in multiple and diverse genres. It places Mitchell in the tradition of Murakami, Sebald, and Rushdie-writers whose works explore narrative in an age of globalization and cosmopolitanism. Patrick O'Donnell traces the through-lines of Mitchell's work from ghostwritten to The Bone Clocks and, with a chapter on each of the six novels, charts the evolution of Mitchell's fictional project.

Create a review

About Author

Patrick O'Donnell is Professor of English at Michigan State University, USA. He is the author or editor of 12 books, including The American Novel Now: Contemporary American Fiction Since 1980 (2010), Latent Destinies: Cultural Paranoia and Contemporary U.S. Narrative (2000) and The Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century American Fiction (co-edited with David W. Madden & Justus Nieland, 2011).


Acknowledgements Introduction: Many Worlds, Real Time Chapter One: A Company of Strangers: ghostwritten Chapter Two: Metropolitan Traumas: number9dream Chapter Three: The Reach of History: Cloud Atlas Chapter Four: Timepiece: blackswangreen Chapter Five: Minor Histories: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet Chapter Six: The Bone Clocks Epilogue: Toward a Fiction of the Future Index

Product Details

  • publication date: 26/03/2015
  • ISBN13: 9781441157287
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 224
  • ID: 9781441157287
  • weight: 306
  • ISBN10: 144115728X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly