Aaron Copland: A Reader: Selected Writings, 1923-1972

Aaron Copland: A Reader: Selected Writings, 1923-1972

By: Aaron Copland (author), Richard Kostelanetz (volume_editor)Hardback

More than 4 weeks availability


First Published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.

Create a review

About Author

Richard Kostelanetz has edited over 40 collections of essays on American culture, ranging in subject matter from avant-garde fiction to collections of critical writings on John Cage and Frank Zappa. He is also a published critic, writer, and artist.


Part One: The Life of Music, A Note on Young Composers, Music Between the Wars, American Music Since 1930, Influence of Jazz on Modern Music, Opera and Drama, Music in the Movies, Music and Theater, the Composer and Conductor, ASCAP and the Symphonic Composer, A Tribute to Nadia Boulanger; Part Two: Composers and Performers, The Ives case, The Younger Generation of American Composers 1926 - 1959, George Antheil, Leonard Bernstein, In Memory of Mark Blitzstein, Stephan Wolpe, Rosza and Hermann; Part Three: Guggenheim Recommendations, Essays written in support of Guggenheim applicants in music; Part Four: His Own Works, Appalachian Spring, Billy the Kid, Compositional Phases, Composing for Something Wild, Jazz and Folk Influences 1947-63, Oedipus Rex, Piano Fantasy; Part Five: His Journals and Diaries, From a Composer's Notebook, From a Composer's Journal, Previously Unpublished Diaries

Product Details

  • publication date: 20/11/2003
  • ISBN13: 9780415939409
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 406
  • ID: 9780415939409
  • weight: 680
  • ISBN10: 0415939402

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly