Adventures in Form: A Compendium of Poetic Forms, Rules & Constraints

Adventures in Form: A Compendium of Poetic Forms, Rules & Constraints

By: Iain Sinclair (author), Hannah Silva (author), Paul Muldoon (author), Tom Chivers (editor)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

£6.99 RRP £9.99  You save £3.00 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


A Poetry Book Society Special Commendation The Independent 50 Best Summer Reads Welcome to a strange new world in which a poem can be written using only one vowel, processed through computer code, collaged from film trailers, compiled from Facebook status updates, hidden inside a Sudoku puzzle, and even painted on sheep to demonstrate Quantum Theory. Discover a multitude of new and unusual poetic forms - from tweet to time-splice, and from skinny villanelle to breakbeat sonnet - in this inspiring and inventive anthology. Adventures in Form features over ninety poems by forty-six contributors including Patience Agbabi, Christian Bok, Joe Dunthorne, Inua Ellams, Roddy Lumsden, Ian McMillan, Paul Muldoon, Ruth Padel and Hannah Silva. Edited and introduced by Tom Chivers.

Create a review

About Author

Tom Chivers was born in South London in 1983. His publications include How To Build A City (Salt Publishing, 2009), The Terrors (Nine Arches Press, 2009; shortlisted for the Michael Marks Award for Poetry Pamphlets) and, as editor, the anthologies Generation Txt, City State: New London Poetry and Stress Fractures: Essays on Poetry (Penned in the Margins, 2006, 2009 & 2010). A regular reviewer for Poetry London, he presented a documentary about the poet Barry MacSweeney for BBC Radio 4 in 2009. He won an Eric Gregory Award in 2011.


Patience Agbabi Simon Barraclough Christian Bok Colette Bryce Theodoros Chiotis Tom Chivers Emily Critchley Rishi Dastidar Joe Dunthorne Michael Egan Inua Ellams SJ Fowler Giles Goodland Kirsten Irving Nathan Jones Valerie Laws Ira Lightman Toby Litt Roddy Lumsden Sophie Mayer Chris McCabe Ian McMillan Richard Moorhead Paul Muldoon Ruth Padel Nathan Penlington Andrew Philip Richard Price Sam Riviere Hannah Silva Iain Sinclair Steve Spence Paul Stephenson Jon Stone Ross Sutherland George Szirte Chris Thorpe Claire Trevien George Ttoouli Tim Turnbull Jack Underwood Hannah Jane Walker Tim Wells James Wilkes Chrissy Williams Tamar Yoseloff

Product Details

  • publication date: 12/03/2012
  • ISBN13: 9781908058010
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 208
  • ID: 9781908058010
  • weight: 249
  • ISBN10: 1908058013

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly