Adventures of a Ballad Hunter

Adventures of a Ballad Hunter

By: John A. Lomax (author), Ken Chamberlain (illustrator), John Nova Lomax (foreword_author), John A. Lomax (foreword_author), Anna Lomax Wood (foreword_author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£13.79 RRP £14.99  You save £1.20 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Growing up beside the Chisholm Trail, captivated by the songs of passing cowboys and his bosom friend, an African American farmhand, John A. Lomax developed a passion for American folk songs that ultimately made him one of the foremost authorities on this fundamental aspect of Americana. Across many decades and throughout the country, Lomax and his informants created over five thousand recordings of America's musical heritage, including ballads, blues, children's songs, fiddle tunes, field hollers, lullabies, play-party songs, religious dramas, spirituals, and work songs. He acted as honorary curator of the Archive of American Folk Song at the Library of Congress, directed the Slave Narrative Project of the WPA, and cofounded the Texas Folklore Society. Lomax's books include Cowboy Songs and Other Frontier Ballads, American Ballads and Folk Songs, Negro Folk Songs as Sung by Leadbelly, and Our Singing Country, the last three coauthored with his son Alan Lomax. Adventures of a Ballad Hunter is a memoir of Lomax's eventful life. It recalls his early years and the fruitful decades he spent on the road collecting folk songs, on his own and later with son Alan and second wife Ruby Terrill Lomax. Vibrant, amusing, often haunting stories of the people he met and recorded are the gems of this book, which also gives lyrics for dozens of songs. Adventures of a Ballad Hunter illuminates vital traditions in American popular culture and the labor that has gone into their preservation.

About Author

John A. Lomax (1867-1948) recorded classics such as "Home on the Range" and "Goodnight Irene" and with son Alan helped launch the musical careers of Leadbelly and Pete Seeger. His extensive recordings and papers are housed in the Library of Congress and the Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin.


Foreword by John A. Lomax III, John Nova Lomax, and Anna Lomax WoodPrefaceI. Boyhood in BosqueII. CollegeIII. Hunting Cowboy SongsIV. Twenty Years InterimV. American Ballads and Folk SongsVI. Penitentiary NegroesVII. Iron Head and Clear RockVIII. Alabama Red LandIX. Burials, Baptizings and a Penitentiary SermonX. Chanteys, Ballads, Work Songs and CallsXI. Some Interesting PeopleXII. Melodies and MemoriesIndex

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781477313718
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 299
  • ID: 9781477313718
  • ISBN10: 1477313710

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly