After the Dance: Selected Stories of Iain Crichton Smith

After the Dance: Selected Stories of Iain Crichton Smith

By: Iain Crichton Smith (author), Alan Warner (editor)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability


As a child Iain Crichton Smith was raised speaking Gaelic on the island of Lewis. At school in Stornoway he spoke English. Like many islanders before and since, his culture was divided: two languages, two histories entailing exile, a central theme of his stories in both tongues. His divided perspective delineated the tyranny of history and religion, of the cramped life of small communities; and gave him a compassionate eye for the struggle of women and men in a world defined by denials. Iain Crichton Smith:Selected Stories proves that big themes - love, history, power, submission, death - can be addressed without the foil of irony and acquire resonance when given a local habitation and a voice that risks pure, humane, impassioned speech.

Create a review

About Author

Iain Crichton Smith born in Glasgow, brought up on Lewis, and attended university in Aberdeen. After working as a teacher in Clydebank and Dumbarton, he taught at the High School in Oban until he took early retirement in 1977. He was the recipient of many literary awards and received an OBE in 1980. His widow, Donalda, still lives in Taynuilt, where the couple moved after their marriage in 1977.

Product Details

  • publication date: 03/10/2013
  • ISBN13: 9781846972966
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9781846972966
  • weight: 240
  • ISBN10: 1846972965

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly