Agnes Owens: The Complete Novellas

Agnes Owens: The Complete Novellas

By: Agnes Owens (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability


This complete collection of Agnes Owens' five novellas opens with "Like Birds in the Wilderness", a portrait of brickie Mac. He's a straightforward guy with a talent for laying bricks and a liking for the drink who decides to head to the oil-rich north to seek his fortune. "A Working Mother" is a wildly entertaining cautionary tale: while Betty's husband Adam broods and drinks (to be matched at times by Betty, just to be sociable) she flirts with their best friend Brendan and tries to avoid the roving hands of her new employer. They're all driving Betty crazy. In "For the Love of Willie Owens" takes a sensitive, canny look at wartime teenage pregnancy - as relevant now as ever. "Bad Attitudes and Jen's Party" conclude the collection: both deadly, darkly funny stories about family relationships and love on the dole.

Create a review

About Author

Agnes Owens has been married twice and raised seven children, and has worked as a cleaner, typist and factory worker. Her books include People Like That and For the Love of Willie, which was shortlisted for the 1998 Stakis Prize. Her short stories have also appeared alongside those of her friends and fellow authors James Kelman and Alasdair Gray in Lean Tales. Bad Attitudes, which consists of two novellas ('Bad Attitudes' and 'Jen's Party'), was longlisted for the 2003 Saltire Literary Awards.

Product Details

  • publication date: 30/07/2009
  • ISBN13: 9781846971372
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 572
  • ID: 9781846971372
  • weight: 408
  • ISBN10: 1846971373

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly