Agnes Owens: The Complete Short Stories... | WHSmith Books
Agnes Owens: The Complete Short Stories

Agnes Owens: The Complete Short Stories

By: Agnes Owens (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


"Don't Call Me" is Agnes Owens' complete life work in short stories - everything from "Gentlemen of the West", "Lean Tales", "People Like That" and 14 brand new unpublished stories. Witty and dark, Owens' spare prose shocks and delights. Her talent for pithy, unsettling tales is as sharp as ever, confirming her place as one of Scotland's finest contemporary writers.

About Author

Agnes Owens has been married twice and raised seven children, and has also worked as a cleaner, typist and factory worker. Her books include 'People Like That' and 'For the Love of Willie', which was shortlisted for the 1998 Stakis Prize. Her short stories have also appeared alongside those of her friends and fellow authors James Kelman and Alasdair Gray in 'Lean Tales'. 'Bad Attitudes', which consists of two novellas ('Bad Attitudes' and 'Jen's Party'), was longlisted for the 2003 Saltire Literary Awards.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781846970597
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 320
  • ID: 9781846970597
  • ISBN10: 1846970598

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly