Alexander the Great Failure: The Collapse of the Macedonian Empire

Alexander the Great Failure: The Collapse of the Macedonian Empire

By: Dr. John D. Grainger (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£19.59 RRP £19.99  You save £0.40 (2%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


In this authoritative book John Grainger explores the foundations of Alexander's empire and why it did not survive after his untimely death in 323 BC. Alexander the Great's empire stretched across three continents and his achievements changed the nature of the ancient world. But for all his military prowess and success as a conqueror, John Grainger argues that he was one of history's great failures. Alexander's arrogance was largely responsible for his own premature death and he was personally culpable for the failure of his imperial enterprise. For Alexander was king of a society where the ruler was absolutely central to the well-being of society as a whole. When the king failed, the Macedonian kingdom imploded, something which had happened every generation for two centuries before him and happened again when he died. For the good of his people, Alexander needed an adult successor, but he refused to provide one while also killing any man who could be seen as one. The consequence was fifty years of warfare after his death and the destruction of his empire. The work of Philip II, Alexander's father, in extending and developing the kingdom of the Macedonians was the foundation for Alexander's career of conquest. Philip's murder in 336 BC brought Alexander to the kingship in the first undisputed royal succession on record.

About Author

Dr John D Grainger is a respected historian with a particular reputation for military subjects. His recent publications include Cromwell Against the Scots and The Battle of Yorktown.


Introduction; 1: Macedon 370 - 359 BC - A Failing State World View 1: 360 BC; 2: Security of Macedon 359 - 354 BC; 3: Defence of the Kingdom 354 - 346 BC; 4: Cold War 346 - 340 BC; 5: Conquest of Greece 340 - 334 BC; 6: The Great Campaign 334 - 325 BC; 7: The United Empire 325 - 319 BC World View 2: 319 BC; 8: Antigonos the One-Eyed 319 - 311 BC; 9: The New King 311 - 306 BC; 10: Antigonos' Failure 306 - 298 BC; 11: New Kings for Macedon 298 - 291 BC; 12: King Demetrios and his Enemies 291 - 285 BC; 13: Last Chance for the Empire 285 - 281 BC; 14: The New Kings, and Disaster 281 - 277 BC; 15: The New World 277 - 272 BC World View 3: 272 BC; Conclusion.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780826443946
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 256
  • ID: 9780826443946
  • ISBN10: 082644394X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly