Alpine Pass Route: East to West Across Switzerland - From Sargans to Montreux (2nd Revised edition)

Alpine Pass Route: East to West Across Switzerland - From Sargans to Montreux (2nd Revised edition)

By: Kev Reynolds (author)Paperback

More than 4 weeks availability


The Alpine Pass Route traverses Switzerland from east to west - from the ancient town of Sargans on the borders of Leichtenstein, to Montreux on the shores of Lake Geneva. It covers some 325 kilometres of mountain and valley, and crosses 16 passes with an accumulation of almost 18,000 metres of height gain in 15 stages. Each pass is different: from the remote slender crest of the Richetli to the broad tourist-thronged Kleine Scheidegg or the rocky crest of the Bunderchrinde and the grassy saddle of the Blattipass with its incredible views of the Oberland giants. Snow-capped peaks accompany the walker - the Todi and the Titlis; the Wetterhorn, Eiger and Jungfrau; the Kandersteg peaks; Wildstrubel, Wildhorn and Diablerets. Accommodation is plentiful. The route can be done as one long hard walk, or split into two easier holidays. There are many options - cable-cars; chair-lifts and funiculars can be used in many places. It is a route to suit all walkers.

Create a review

About Author

Kev Reynolds is a freelance writer, photojournalist and lecturer. He has published many books on the Alps, a series of trekkers' guides to Nepal and, nearer to home, several guides on walking in southern England. A member of the Alpine Club, Austrian Alpine club and the Outdoor Writers' Guild, he is also first Honorary Member of the British Association of European Mountain Leaders. Most winters find Kev travelling around Britain sharing his love of wild places through his lectures.


The Route Stage 1: Sargans - Mels - Weisstannen Stage 2: Weisstannen - Foopass - Elm Stage 3: Elm - Richetlipass - Linthal Stage 4: Linthal - Klausenpass - Altdorf Stage 5: Altdorf - Surenenpass - Engelberg Stage 6: Engelberg - Jochpass - Meiringen Stage 7: Meiringen - Grosse Scheidegg - Grindelwald Stage 8: Grindelwald - Kleine Scheidegg - Lauterbrunnen Stage 9: Lauterbrunnen - Murren - Sefinenfurke - Griesalp Stage 10: Griesalp - Hohturli - Kandersteg Stage 11: Kandersteg - Bunderchrinde - Adelboden Stage 12: Adelboden - Hahnenmoospass - Lenk Stage 13: Lenk - Lauenen - Gsteig Stage 14: Gsteig - Blattipass - Col des Anderets - Col des Mosses Stage 15: Col des Mosses - Col de Chaude - Montreux

Product Details

  • publication date: 01/07/2004
  • ISBN13: 9781852844059
  • Format: Paperback, Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 192
  • ID: 9781852844059
  • weight: 280
  • ISBN10: 1852844051
  • edition: 2nd Revised edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly