American Antislavery Songs: A Collection and Analysis (Documentary Reference Collections)

American Antislavery Songs: A Collection and Analysis (Documentary Reference Collections)

By: Vicki L. Eaklor (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


This comprehensive collection of 492 songs constitutes a body of work surprisingly large in proportion and revealing in scope. Drawn from a wide selection of sources, it is the only collection of antislavery songs currently in print. The songs are organized in six sections representing variations of antislavery thought and activity. Compiled from songs originally printed with music, lyrics with designated tunes, and lyrics otherwise indicating that they were actually, sung, the book follows a chronology that is historically meaningful. There is an explanatory introduction for each section, in which both the music and the lyrics are discussed. Sources are included for each song and five indexes provide ready access to author, title, tune, first line, and subject. The author's extensive introductory essay examines the historical background of the antislavery movement and its music.

About Author

VICKI L. EAKLOR is Assistant Professor of History in the Division of Human Studies, Alfred University.


The Songs Liberia God And Liberty My Country Get Off The Track! Gone, Sold and Gone American Union

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780313254130
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 672
  • ID: 9780313254130
  • ISBN10: 0313254133

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly