Angela Carter: The Rational Glass

Angela Carter: The Rational Glass

By: Aidan Day (author)Paperback

4 - 6 days availability

£16.65 RRP £16.99  You save £0.34 (2%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


This full scale study discusses Angela Carter's fiction in chronological order, and notes that although her themes are fairly consistent throughout her work, consistency of theme is not the same as repetition. The new angles and emphases that develop are partly from Carter's immersion in the changing intellectual debates of the times and, concurrently, arise from the reading she was doing at the different stages of her life, which stretched from the medieval through de Sade to Foucault.

Create a review

About Author

Aidan Day is Reader in English Literature at the University of Edinburgh.


"Shadow Dance", "The Magic Toyshop" and "Several Perceptions"; "Heroes and Villains" and "Love"; "The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman" and "The Sadeian Woman"; "The Passion of New Eve"; "The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories"; "Nights at the Circus"; "Wise Children".

Product Details

  • publication date: 23/04/1998
  • ISBN13: 9780719053160
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 240
  • ID: 9780719053160
  • weight: 305
  • ISBN10: 0719053161

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly