Assassin!: 200 Years of British Political Murder

Assassin!: 200 Years of British Political Murder

By: Ian Hernon (author)Hardback

Special OrderSpecial Order item not currently available. We'll try and order for you.


-- Exposes Britain's secret history of political killings, murder and intrigue -- For as long as the world has had rulers, there have been plots to assassinate those at the top. Violent death is usually associated with dictatorships and tinpot regimes. Few people know that Britain also has a history of political assassination. This book brings to life the forgotten story of assassination -- successful and unsuccessful -- over the last 200 years in Britain. From Prime Ministers and politicians to princes, lords and officials of all kinds, Britain's assassination attempts cover a wide variety of figures in some key moments of history. Hernon examines the motivations of the assassins -- from political ideologies to simple mental instability. He shows how most attempts originated from isolated individuals or minority groups, rather than broad political will. Ultimately, Hernon argues, assassination remains the resort of the outsider with poor political judgement. Assassination attempts have never -- in this country -- brought about the changes the assassin wishes. They have often served to undermine civil liberties. But they do provide a fascinating account of how the will of the individual has occasionally and dramatically intervened into the lives of those in power. Praise for Ian's previous book 'Riot': 'A fascinating history.' Guardian 'Stirring stuff ...written with the pace and detail you would expect from an experienced journalist.' BBC History magazine

About Author

Ian Hernon has been a journalist since 1969 and a Westminster lobby correspondent since 1978. He has reported for the Sunday Times and Daily Express Scottish editions, the News of the World, the Glasgow Evening Times, and many other newspapers. Ian's previous books on 19th Century British history include Britain's Forgotten Wars, The Savage Empire, Blood in the Sand and Massacre and Retribution.


Introduction 1: The Despard Plot 2: Death of a Prime Minister 3: The Cato Street Conspiracy 4: Queen Victoria - The First Attempt 5: The McNaughton Rules 6: Queen Victoria - Further Attempts 7: The Wounding of the Duke of Edinburgh 8: The Phoenix Park Murders 9: The Cairo Gang and the Pass of Flowers 10: The Attempt on Edward VIII 11: British Assassinations Overseas 12: The Troubles to Airey Neave 13: The Murder of Lord Mountbatten 14: The Brighton Bomb 15: The Troubles to Ian Gow 16: The Attack on John Major and Beyond 17: The Attempt on Tony Blair Conclusion Notes Bibliography Index

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780745327167
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 272
  • ID: 9780745327167
  • ISBN10: 0745327168

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly