By: Thomas Ades (composer)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£31.49 RRP £34.99  You save £3.50 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


One of the defining orchestral works of our time, Thomas Ades's Asyla (1997) has been performed by many of the world's leading orchestras including the Berlin Philharmonic. A 22-minute four movement `symphony' for large orchestra including six percussionists and two pianists, Asyla's vast scope and tremendous power vividly conjures both the madhouses and refuges to which its title alludes, never more so than in the frenzied rave-inspired third movement Ecstasio. The work won the Grawemeyer Award, making Ades its youngest ever recipient. `It is a thrilling, original work ... The effect was exuberant, noisy, disconcerting and intriguing.' The Times (Richard Morrison), 9 September 2002

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780571518630
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 92
  • ID: 9780571518630
  • weight: 531
  • ISBN10: 057151863X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly