Baroque Violin Pieces, Book 1 (Baroque Violin Pieces (ABRSM))

Baroque Violin Pieces, Book 1 (Baroque Violin Pieces (ABRSM))

By: Richard Jones (editor)Other Formats

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week

£9.70 RRP £10.00  You save £0.30 (3%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


This four-volume graded anthology acts as an introduction to the style and repertoire of Baroque music for solo violin and continuo. From the riches of this music, the editor has compiled a varied selection of instantly attractive pieces which, at the same time, are of great value in teaching style and technique. Players in the Baroque period enjoyed considerable freedom in their interpretation of music. In this edition, while the score faithfully reproduces original sources, the separate violin part includes all the necessary bowing, dynamics and articulation marks required to give a stylish and expressive performance on a modern violin. Brief notes on each piece, suggestions for rhythmic interpretation and ornament realizations, and a short introduction to Baroque playing style further enhance the player's understanding. All the major composers and violin virtuosi of the day are represented in the anthology from Corelli to Vivaldi and from Bach to Telemann. Overall, the first three books progress from about Grade 2 to Grade 7 and the contents of each are arranged in order of difficulty. Book 4 contains longer works and complete sonatas, including two hitherto unpublished sonatas by Albinoni. Altogether, in an informed and highly accessible way, these volumes provide an excellent introduction to the wealth of Baroque music for violin and continuo. ABRSM gratefully acknowledges the assistance of Edward Huws Jones in bowing and fingering the pieces in this anthology.


Tempo di Minuetto from Partia No. 2 in G, TWV 41:G2 [Georg Philipp Telemann] ; Largo in G from Sonata in G, Op. 2 No. 5 [Pepusch] ; Allegro from Sonata in F, Op. 1 No. 12 [Tartini] ; Minuetto from Sonata in B flat, Op. 1 No. 8 [Birkenstock] ; Largo in D from Sonata in B minor, Op. 2 No. 7 [Pepusch] ; Sarabanda from Suite No. 1 in D minor [J. J. Walther] ; Gavotte La Romaine from Sonata in D, Op. 7 No. 4 [Duval] ; Aria from Sonata in G, Op. 8 No. 4 [William De Fesch] ; Sarabanda from Sonata in A, Op. 2 No. 7 [Mascitti] ; Gavotta from Sonata in E minor, Op. 2 No. 9, RV 16 [Vivaldi] ; Cantabile from Sonatina No. 6 in F, TWV 41:F1 [Georg Philipp Telemann] ; Aria from Suite No. 19 in B flat [J. J. Walther] ; Largo in D minor from Sonata No. 1 in F [F. M. Veracini] ; Corrente from Op. 4 [Uccellini] ; Sarabanda from Sonata in E minor, Op. 5 No. 8 [Corelli] ; Allegretto from Sonata in A, Op. 5 No. 3 [Tartini] ; Largo in A minor from Sonata No. 5 in C [F. M. Veracini] ; Allegro from Sonata in G, RV 25 [Vivaldi] ; Affettuoso from Sonatina No.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781854728289
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 64
  • ID: 9781854728289
  • weight: 232
  • ISBN10: 1854728288

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly