Black Deutschland: A Novel

Black Deutschland: A Novel

By: Darryl Pinckney (author)Paperback

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week

£9.35 RRP £12.99  You save £3.64 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Newly sober and nostalgic for the Weimar days of Isherwood and Auden, Jed arrives to chase boys and to escape from what it means to be a black male in America. But history, both personal and political, can't be avoided with time or distance. Whether it's the judgment of the cousin he grew up with and her husband's bourgeois German family, the lure of white wine in a down-and-out bar, a gang of racists looking for a brawl, or the ravaged visage of Rock Hudson flashing behind the face of every white boy Jed desperately longs for, the past never stays past, even in faraway Berlin. An intoxicating, provocative novel of appetite, identity, and self-construction, Darryl Pinckney's Black Deutschland tells the story of an outsider searching for an obscure home in Europe's brightest and darkest city. Named one of the most anticipated books of the year by The Millions, Flavorwire, The Boston Globe, and The Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel; For readers of Teju Cole. From the author of High Cotton comes the story of a young African American man in divided Berlin: "The novel is full of wondrous things" (James Wood, The New Yorker).

About Author

DARRYL PINCKNEY, a longtime contributor to The New York Review of Books, is the author of a novel, High Cotton, and two works of nonfiction, Blackballed: The Black Vote and US Democracy and Out There: Mavericks of Black Literature. He has also collaborated with Robert Wilson on theater projects, most recently an adaption of Daniil Kharm's The Old Woman. He lives in New York.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781250117977
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 304
  • ID: 9781250117977
  • weight: 286
  • ISBN10: 1250117976

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close