Brian Ferneyhough (Critical Guides to Contemporary Composers)

Brian Ferneyhough (Critical Guides to Contemporary Composers)

By: Lois Fitch (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£24.25 RRP £25.00  You save £0.75 (3%) With FREE Saver Delivery


One of contemporary music's most significant and controversial figures, Brian Ferneyhough creates complex and challenging music that draws inspiration from painting, literature, and philosophy, as well as music from the recent and distant past. His dense, multilayered compositions intrigue musicians while pushing both performer and instrument to the limits of their abilities. A wide-ranging survey of his life and work to date, Brian Ferneyhough examines the critical issues fundamental to understanding the composer as a musician and a thinker. Debuting in celebration of Ferneyhough's seventieth birthday in 2013, this book strikes a rich balance between critical analysis of the music and close scrutiny of its aesthetic and philosophical contexts, making possible a more rounded view of the composer than has been previously available.

About Author

Lois Fitch is a senior lecturer in music at Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781783200184
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 160
  • ID: 9781783200184
  • weight: 758
  • ISBN10: 1783200189

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly