Chamber Music: A Listener's Guide

Chamber Music: A Listener's Guide

By: James Keller (author)Paperback

Up to 1 WeekUsually despatched within 1 week

£20.24 RRP £22.49  You save £2.25 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Oxford's highly successful listener's guides-The Symphony, The Concerto, and Choral Masterworks-have been widely praised for their blend of captivating biography, crystal clear musical analysis, and delightful humor. Now James Keller follows these greatly admired volumes with Chamber Music. Approaching the tradition of chamber music with knowledge and passion, Keller here serves as the often-opinionated but always genial guide to 192 essential works by 56 composers, providing illuminating essays on what makes each piece distinctive and admirable. Keller spans the history of this intimate genre of music, from key works of the Baroque through the emotionally stirring "golden age" of the Classical and Romantic composers, to modern masterpieces rich in political, psychological, and sometimes comical overtones. For each piece, from Bach through to contemporary figures like George Crumb and Steve Reich, the author includes an astute musical analysis that casual music lovers can easily appreciate yet that more experienced listeners will find enriching. Keller shares the colorful, often surprising stories behind the compositions while revealing the delights of an art form once described by Goethe as the musical equivalent of "thoughtful people conversing."

About Author

James Keller, longtime Program Annotator of the New York Philharmonic and the San Francisco Symphony, was awarded the prestigious ASCAP-Deems Taylor Award for feature writing about music in Chamber Music magazine, where he has been Contributing Editor for more than a decade.


Introduction ; Anton Arensky ; Johann Sebastian Bach ; Samuel Barber ; Bela Bartok ; Ludwig van Beethoven ; Alban Berg ; Alexander Borodin ; Johannes Brahms ; Benjamin Britten ; Elliott Carter ; Aaron Copland ; Ruth Crawford Seeger ; George Crumb ; Achille-Claude Debussy ; Ernst von Dohnanyi ; Antonin Dvorak ; Edward Elgar ; Georges Enesco ; Gabriel Faure ; Cesar Franck ; Mikhail Glinka ; Osvaldo Golijov ; Edvard Grieg ; Franz Joseph Haydn ; Fanny Mendelssohn Hensel ; Paul Hindemith ; Jacques Ibert ; Charles Ives ; Leos Janacek ; Zoltan Kodaly ; Gyorgy Ligetti ; Bohuslav Martinu ; Felix Mendelssohn ; Olivier Messiaen ; Wolfgang Amade Mozart ; Carl Nielsen ; Francis Poulenc ; Sergei Prokofiev ; Maurice Ravel ; Steve Reich ; Silvestre Revueltas ; Camille Saint-Saens ; Arnold Schoenberg ; Franz Peter Schubert ; Clara Wieck Schumann ; Robert Schumann ; Dmitri Shostakovich ; Jean Sibelius ; Bedrich Smetana ; Igor Stravinsky ; Karol Szymanowski ; Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky ; Joan Tower ; Carl Maria von Weber ; Anton Webern ; Hugo Wolf

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780190206390
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 528
  • ID: 9780190206390
  • weight: 680
  • ISBN10: 019020639X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly