Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics

Chance Witness: An Outsider's Life in Politics

By: Matthew Parris (author)Paperback

1 - 2 weeks availability

£9.19 RRP £9.99  You save £0.80 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25

Description

Chance Witness by Matthew Parris - a hilarious and fascinating portrait of life in politics, from Thatcher to Blair. It is the winner of the Channel 4 / Politico's Political Book of the Year Award. "Made me laugh out loud. A book full of wisdom". (Simon Hoggart, Guardian). In this surprising and eccentric autobiography from a former Conservative MP, Matthew Parris writes of his personal and political life with equal candour. With a First from Cambridge and the possibility of working for the Foreign Office, he decided instead to apply to be an apprentice diesel-fitter with London Transport. He was rejected and so turned to a life in politics. He has worked with Margaret Thatcher, Chris Patten, Tony Blair and Michael Portillo, and his observations of political lifeand those who move within it are truly fascinating. This colourful memoir is an account of a young life already well lived. For readers of Margaret Thatcher by Charles Moore, and fans of The End of the Party by Andrew Rawnsley, this is a fascinating glimpse into modern British politics. "A five-star autobiography. Dazzling, hilarious and wonderful". (Sunday Times). Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. He was a Conservative MP from 1979 to 1986, since when he has worked as a journalist. He is the author of A Castle in Spain, the acclaimed story of his medieval home in L'Avenc, as well as the bestselling books Parting Shots and A Spanish Ambassador's Suitcase, both based on the BBC Radio 4 series. He divides his time between Derbyshire (where his old constituency was situated) and east London.

Create a review

About Author

Matthew Parris was born in Johannesburg in 1949. For seven years a Conservative MP, he quit to present LWT's Weekend World, after which he became a regular parliamentary sketchwriter for The Times. His books include READ MY LIPS, SCORN WITH ADDED VITRIOL, and INCA-KOLA, about his travels in Peru. He has also made a number of television documentaries, including most recently an account of his sojourn on a remote sub-Antarctic island.

Product Details

  • publication date: 25/07/2013
  • ISBN13: 9780241968291
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 544
  • ID: 9780241968291
  • weight: 415
  • ISBN10: 0241968291

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close