Dark Winter: The 1st DS McAvoy Novel (DS McAvoy)

Dark Winter: The 1st DS McAvoy Novel (DS McAvoy)

By: David Mark (author)Paperback

Out of Stock


. THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING RICHARD & JUDY PICK AND KINDLE CHART-TOPPING SENSATION: MEET DS AECTOR MCAVOY, AND BEGIN DAVID MARK'S ADDICTIVE HULL-BASED CRIME SERIES. 'Dark, compelling crime writing of the highest order' Daily Mail 'Breathtaking. Mark writes bad beautifully' Peter May, author of The Blackhouse Hull, northern England. Two weeks before Christmas. Three bodies in the morgue. The victims - each a sole survivor of a past tragedy - killed in the manner they once cheated death. Somebody is playing God. And it falls to DS Aector McAvoy to stop their deadly game. Hooked on Hull? Then check out the second in the DS Aector McAvoy series, Original Skin ...

Richard and Judy's Reviews

Judy's Review

Judy's Review
The Dark Winter is David Mark's debut novel, and very impressive it is. Mark has been a journalist for fifteen years; seven of them spent as crime reporter for The Yorkshire Post, in its Hull office. The word is that it's taken Mark years to convince a publisher that a crime novel set in Hull, as opposed to London, New York or Los Angeles, will sell. That Quercus finally took him on is to it's credit, as this first novel is strong and compulsively readable. The Dark Winter is set in a bleak wintery Hull, just before Christmas. Mark describes Hull colourfully as ''A city on it's arse, fighting recession and deprivation."""" The book's protagonist is DS Aector McAvoy, a gentle giant of a man, deeply devoted to his little family. He is a man of honour and principle, trying to keep his head down in a police department full of resentment, rivalry and lies. It falls to McAvoy to investigate a serial killer who begins to murder a number of unlikely victims - all of them linked only by the fact that they are all sole survivors of different tragic events from their pasts. These include the only man saved from the wreck of a sinking trawler, a girl who miraculously escaped a massacre in Sierra Leone, and a man who survived a domestic house fire that killed his wife and children. I loved it.

About Author

David Mark spent more than 15 years as a journalist, including seven years as a crime reporter with The Yorkshire Post - walking the Hull streets that would later become the setting for the Detective Sergeant Aector McAvoy novels. His writing is heavily influenced by the court cases he covered: the defeatist and jaded police officers; the competent and incompetent investigators; the inertia of the justice system and the sheer raw grief of those touched by savagery and tragedy. He has written five novels in the McAvoy series: Dark Winter, Original Skin, Sorrow Bound, Taking Pity and Dead Pretty. David has also written a McAvoy novella, A Bad Death, which is available as an ebook. He lives in Lincolnshire with his partner, two children and an assortment of animals.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780857389213
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 400
  • ID: 9780857389213
  • weight: 276
  • ISBN10: 0857389211

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly