Day Walks in the Cotswolds: 20 Classic Circular Routes (Day Walks 9)

Day Walks in the Cotswolds: 20 Classic Circular Routes (Day Walks 9)

By: Judy Mills (author), Adam Long (photographer)Paperback

In Stock

£9.32 RRP £12.95  You save £3.63 (28%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Day Walks in the Cotswolds features 20 circular routes, between 7.1 and 12.6 miles (11.5km and 20.2km), suitable for hillwalkers of all abilities. Split across three areas - North-East Cotswolds, North-West Cotswolds and South Cotswolds - local author Judy Mills shares her favourite walks in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). These walks take in a variety of local landmarks, including the World War II airfield and Roman villa at Chedworth; Neolithic long barrows such as Hetty Pegler's Tump; grand country estates like Badminton; magnificent Cotswold manor houses and historic churches; high points at Bredon Hill and North Nibley; and the many charming rural villages, such as the Duntisbournes and the Slaughters, for which the Cotswolds are famous. Each route features Ordnance Survey 1:25,000 maps, easy-to-follow directions, details of distance & navigation information, and refreshment stops and local information. The walks are illustrated with stunning photography by outdoor photographer Adam Long.

About Author

Judy Mills' love for the English countryside grew when she moved to a small Somerset village at the age of nine. After studying ecology at university, she found that jobs where she could sit in a field counting flowers were hard to come by, so spent thirty years in the police service, leading voluntary working holidays with the National Trust in her spare time.A keen but slow runner she completes a couple of marathons each year as well as taking part in the annual Cotswold Way Relay. She enjoys walking and horse riding, and in 2014 cycled from Land's End to John o'Groats. She lives with her husband in Gloucestershire where they keep sheep and beef shorthorn cattle.


Introduction; Acknowledgements; About the walks; Walk times; Navigation; GPS and mobile phones; Parking; Rights of way; Safety; The Countryside Code; Farmland; Dogs; Other users of the countryside; The Cotswold Way; How to use this book; Maps, descriptions and distances; Km/mile conversion chart; Cotswolds Area Map; SECTION 1 - THE NORTH-EAST COTSWOLDS; 1 Southrop & the Eastleaches; 2 The Windrush at Windrush; 3 Bledington Morris; 4 Five Churches; 5 Naunton & the Slaughters; 6 Broadway & Snowshill; 7 Rollright & Adlestrop; SECTION 2 - THE NORTH-WEST COTSWOLDS; 8 Bredon Hill; 9 Chedworth; 10 Sapperton Tunnels; 11 Slad & the Painswick Brook; 12 Winstone & the Duntisbournes; 13 Brimpsfield & Birdlip; 14 Belas Knap & the Beesmoor Brook; SECTION 3 - THE SOUTH COTSWOLDS; 15 Lasborough & Ozleworth Bottom; 16 Wotton-under-Edge & North Nibley; 17 Dyrham & West Littleton; 18 St Catherine's Court & Little Solsbury Hill; 19 Owlpen & Hetty Pegler's Tump; 20 Badminton; Appendix.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781910240991
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 160
  • ID: 9781910240991
  • weight: 220
  • ISBN10: 1910240990

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly