Doctor Who Collection Four: The Lost TV Episodes (1967) (WW)

Doctor Who Collection Four: The Lost TV Episodes (1967) (WW)

By: Ian Stuart Black (author), BBC (author), Full Cast (reader), Frazer Hines (reader), Patrick Troughton (reader), Anneke Wills (reader)Audio Book

1 - 2 weeks availability


Absent from the TV archives, these stories survive only as soundtrack recordings. Now remastered, with additional linking narration, you can enjoy them once again: plus bonus interviews with Anneke Wills and Frazer Hines, and PDF files of the original scripts. The Macra Terror: (first broadcast March-April 1967): The TARDIS visits a human colony that appears to be one big holiday camp, but has in fact been infiltrated and taken over by a race of giant crab-like creatures - the Macra. The Faceless Ones (first broadcast April-May 1967): The TARDIS makes a hazardous return to 1960s Earth, materialising on a runway at Gatwick Airport! The Doctor realises that all is not well when Polly witnesses a murder, and then both she and Ben vanish...The Evil of the Daleks (first broadcast May-July 1967): The TARDIS has been stolen by antiques dealer Edward Waterfield, who lures the Doctor and Jamie into an elaborate trap set by the most deadly race in the universe: The Daleks. The Abominable Snowmen (first broadcast September-November 1967): The TARDIS materialises in the snowy Himalayas in 1935 and the Doctor makes a return visit to the nearby Detsen monastery - only to find it under attack, apparently from the Yeti...The Ice Warriors (first broadcast November-December 1967): The TARDIS crew materialise in an England of the future to find Earth in the grip of a new Ice Age - and under threat from a new menace in the form of the Ice Warriors...Also includes linking narration by Anneke Wills and Frazer Hines (includes brand new narration for The Macra Terror), bonus interviews with Anneke Wills and Frazer Hines and high quality scans, presented as PDF files, of the original BBC TV camera scripts. 12 CDs. 11 hrs 55 mins.

Create a review

About Author

Ian Stuart Black was an author and screenwriter, best known for his creation of the TV series Danger Man, starring Patrick McGoohan. Black wrote three serials for Doctor Who - The Savages, The War Machines and The Macra Terror - and novelised the stories for Target Books. He also wrote several non-genre novels, one of which, The High Bright Sun, was made into a film starring Dirk Bogarde. Ian Stuart Black died in 1997. Malcolm Hulke was a prolific and respected television writer, whose credits included the early science fiction Pathfinders series, as well as The Avengers. He wrote the Doctor Who serial The Faceless Ones (with David Ellis) for the Second Doctor, and later teamed up with Terrance Dicks to write The War Games, which explained the Doctor's origins and introduced the Time Lords. Hulke continued to write for Doctor Who, providing a story for each of the Third Doctor's series. He died in 1979, soon after completing his novelisation of The War Games. David Ellis was born in 1918. He wrote numerous television stories throughout the Sixties and Seventies, including Dixon of Dock Green, Paul Temple, Z Cars and Marked Personal. In 1967, he co-wrote the Doctor Who serial The Faceless Ones with Malcolm Hulke, after having a number of other scripts for the programme rejected. He died in June 1978. David Whitaker was the first Story Editor for Doctor Who, and was responsible for finding and commissioning writers, and it was Whitaker as much as anyone who defined the narrative shape of Doctor Who. He wrote for the Doctor Who annuals, novelised the first Dalek story and worked with Terry Nation on various Dalek-related material including the hugely successful comic strip The Daleks. David Whitaker died in 1980. Henry Lincoln is probably best known as co-author of the controversial book The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail, which later influenced Dan Brown's mega-bestselling The Da Vinci Code. He co-wrote (with Mervyn Haisman) three Doctor Who serials - The Abominable Snowmen, The Web of Fear and The Dominators. An actor as well as author, Lincoln appeared in several TV series in the 1960s including The Avengers, The Saint, Man in a Suitcase and The Champions. He has also presented TV documentaries on The Man in the Iron Mask, Nostradamus and the Cathars. He lives in France, near the village of Rennes-le-Chateau. Mervyn Haisman was one of the creators - with co-author Henry Lincoln - of Doctor Who's memorable Yeti monsters. They were first seen in the serial The Abominable Snowmen in 1967, and were so popular with the audience that they featured in a second story, The Web of Fear, a year later. However, this was to be the last appearance of the Abominable Snowmen until 1983's The Five Doctors. Haisman and Lincoln's last script for Doctor Who was The Dominators. Haisman subsequently went on to write for the popular BBC series Jane, starring Glynis Barber, as well as The Onedin Line (on which he was also script editor) and Howard's Way. He died in 2010. Brian Hayles wrote for radio, television and film, including such series as The Archers, United! and Z Cars. Hayles' work on Doctor Who included adventures for the first three Doctors. His first story was the well-remembered The Celestial Toymaker, and after his historical adventure The Smugglers, Hayles wrote The Ice Warriors - introducing the creatures for which he is best remembered. He wrote three further Ice Warriors stories, the last two featuring the Third Doctor and set on the feudal planet Peladon. Brian Hayles died in 1978.

Product Details

  • publication date: 02/02/2012
  • ISBN13: 9781408467541
  • Format: Audio Book
  • running time: 715
  • Number Of Pages: 12
  • ID: 9781408467541
  • weight: 651
  • ISBN10: 1408467542
  • edition: WW

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly