By: George Benjamin (composer)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


George Benjamin's Duet, his new work for pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard and the Cleveland Orchestra, sounds like no other piece he has ever written - and no other piano concerto in the repertoire. Its premiere at the Lucerne festival, conducted by Franz Welser-Moest, revealed music of startling concentration. Duet plays for just 13 minutes, but its expressive and emotional effects are on the largest scale....Benjamin signals his intentions right from the start in a terse solo for Aimard, whose crystalline two-part writing cascades into a spiky tutti for the orchestra. The orchestral palette is reduced to a soundworld that matches and amplifies the piano's sonority. Benjamin often pares the piano writing down to single lines, and Aimard duetted with the harp, the timpani, and the disembodied sound of the four double-basses playing high, whistle-like harmonics. Instead of virtuosic figuration, Benjamin's piano in Duet produces bell-like chimes in the slower music and laser-like clarity in the faster writing. Most strikingly of all, in the centre of the work, Benjamin writes music of stark intensity, distilled to its essentials: individual notes and chords in the piano part and ghostly flickers of string writing, with staccato tremors in the cellos and harmonics in the violas. There was a physical sense of the music being wrenched into another dimension. The Guardian (Tom Service), 2 September 2008 Benjamin's Duet, a Roche commission, is as beguiling as it is brief (about 15 minutes) and underlines the differences between piano and orchestra. Lyrical, uncluttered solos of no great virtuosity are juxtaposed against dazzlingly intricate orchestral passages... Pierre-Laurent Aimard - the soloist for whom the piece was written - and the orchestra relished Benjamin's cleansing textures. The Sunday Times (Hugh Canning), 7 September 2008

About Author

George Benjamin CBE is one of the outstanding composers of his generation. Born in 1960, Benjamin started to play the piano at the age of seven, and began composing almost immediately. He is now the Henry Purcell Professor of Composition at King's College, London and was made a Chevalier dans l'ordre des Arts et Lettres in 1996. He was elected to the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts, only the fourth time such an honour has been bestowed on a British composer and in 2001 he was awarded the Deutsche Symphonie Orchester's first ever Schoenberg Prize for composition.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780571534692
  • Format: Paperback, Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 64
  • ID: 9780571534692
  • weight: 243
  • ISBN10: 0571534694

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly