Electronic and Experimental Music: Technology, Music, and Culture (5th New edition)

Electronic and Experimental Music: Technology, Music, and Culture (5th New edition)

By: Thom Holmes (author)Paperback

Only 1 in stock

£41.39 RRP £45.99  You save £4.60 (10%) With FREE Saver Delivery


Electronic and Experimental Music: Technology, Music, and Culture provides a comprehensive history of electronic music, covering key composers, genres, and techniques used in analog and digital synthesis. This textbook has been extensively revised with the needs of students and instructors in mind. The reader-friendly style, logical organization, and pedagogical features of the fifth edition allow easy access to key ideas, milestones, and concepts. New to this edition: * A companion website, featuring key examples of electronic music, both historical and contemporary. * Listening Guides providing a moment-by-moment annotated exploration of key works of electronic music. * A new chapter-Contemporary Practices in Composing Electronic Music. * Updated presentation of classic electronic music in the United Kingdom, Italy, Latin America, and Asia, covering the history of electronic music globally. * An expanded discussion of early experiments with jazz and electronic music, and the roots of electronic rock. * Additional accounts of the vastly under-reported contributions of women composers in the field. * More photos, scores, and illustrations throughout. The companion website features a number of student and instructor resources, such as additional Listening Guides, links to streaming audio examples and online video resources, PowerPoint slides, and interactive quizzes.

About Author

Thom Holmes is a music historian and composer. He studied composition with Paul Epstein in Philadelphia, published the magazine Recordings of Experimental Music (1979-85), and worked with John Cage. He is a current member of Composers Inside Electronics, an electronic music performing ensemble dedicated to the realization of works by David Tudor. Holmes produces a personal blog, Noise and Notations, and writes the blog Moog: A History in Recordings for the Bob Moog Foundation. He curates an archive of vintage electronic music recordings and maintains The Sound of Moog, possibly the only complete collection of every commercial recording made using the Moog Modular Synthesizer (1964-70).


List of Illustrations x Preface xxx Acknowledgments xx Part I Early History: Predecessors and Pioneers (1874 to 1960) 1 1 Electronic Music Before 1945 xxx 2 Early Electronic Music in Europe xxx 3 Early Electronic Music in the United States and Latin America xxx 4 Early Electronic Music in Asia and Oceania xxx Part II Analog Synthesis and Instruments xxx 5 Tape Composition and Fundamental Concepts of Electronic Music xxx 6 Early Synthesizers and Experimenters xxx 7 Principles of Analog Synthesis and Voltage Control xxx 8 The Voltage-Controlled Synthesizer xxx Part III Digital Synthesis and Computer Music xxx 9 Early Computer Music (1953-85) xxx 10 The Microprocessor Revolution (1975 to the Present) xxx 11 The Principles of Computer Music xxx Part IV The Music xxx 12 Contemporary Classical and Experimental Music xxx 13 Jazz, Live Electronic Music, and Ambient Music xxx 14 Rock, Space Age Pop, and Turntablism xxx 15 Contemporary Practices in Composing Electronic Music Pioneering Works of Electronic Music Appendix: A Concise History of Computer Music xxx Glossary xxx Notes xxx

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781138792739
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 562
  • ID: 9781138792739
  • weight: 1184
  • ISBN10: 113879273X
  • edition: 5th New edition

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly