English Church Music, Volume 1: Anthems and Motets (Oxford Choral Classics Collections Vocal score)

English Church Music, Volume 1: Anthems and Motets (Oxford Choral Classics Collections Vocal score)

By: Robert King (editor), John Rutter (editor)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£16.10 RRP £17.50  You save £1.40 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


Oxford Choral Classics: English Church Music assembles in two volumes around 100 of the finest examples of English sacred choral music of the past five centuries. The first volume, dedicated to anthems and motets, presents both favourite and lesser-known works, from the exceptional Renaissance polyphony of Taverner, Tallis, and Byrd, through the Restoration led by Purcell, to the glorious works of the great nineteenth- and twentieth-century composers, including Wesley, Elgar, Stanford, Vaughan Williams, and Howells. The volume contains a number of more substantial works, including Mendelssohn's Hear my prayer, Stainer's I saw the Lord, and Naylor's Vox dicentis: Clama, as well as a wonderful selection of shorter pieces, from Gibbons's O Lord, in thy wrath to Walton's Set me as a seal upon thine heart. With the second companion volume of canticles and responses, this bipartite collection presents a comprehensive survey of English sacred music at its best.

About Author

For 30 years Robert King has enjoyed a busy career as a conductor, festival director, and editor. He read music at Cambridge, where in 1980 he founded the period instrument orchestra and choir The King's Consort. TKC has since toured across the globe, made almost 100 recordings, and won many international awards. King has conducted many of the leading orchestras and chamber choirs of Europe and North America, as well as operas in Japan, Britain, France, Germany, and Spain. He has written and presented for the BBC, been artistic director of music festivals in Sweden, Germany, and the UK, and contributed to the scores of Hollywood films including Shrek 2, Pirates of the Caribbean, Flushed Away, and The Da Vinci Code. Renowned as an expert in Baroque and Classical music, King has created performing editions of more than 100 works, which are used by professional and amateur performers across the world. John Rutter was born in London in 1945 and studied music at Clare College, Cambridge. His compositions embrace choral, orchestral, and instrumental music, and he has edited or co-edited various choral anthologies, including four Carols for Choirs volumes with Sir David Willcocks and the Oxford Choral Classics series. From 1975 to 1979 he was Director of Music at Clare College, and in 1981 he formed his own choir, the Cambridge Singers. He now divides his time between composition and conducting and is sought after as a guest conductor for the world's leading choirs and orchestras. John Rutter's music has been widely recorded and is available on many record labels including Universal, Naxos, and Hyperion. The Cambridge Singers have recorded many of John Rutter's works on the Collegium Records label.


Rejoice in the Lord alway ; Jesu, the very thought of thee ; Salvator mundi ; O where shall wisdom be found? ; Ave verum Corpus ; Haec dies ; Justorum animae ; Sing joyfully ; They are at rest ; Lord, for thy tender mercy's sake ; O clap your hands ; O Lord, in thy wrath ; These are they which follow the Lamb ; Lord, let me know mine end ; My song is love unknown ; Faire is the heaven ; O how glorious is the kingdom ; Like as the hart desireth the waterbrooks ; Greater love hath no man ; The souls of the righteous ; Hear my prayer ; Nolo mortem peccatoris ; Vox dicentis: Clama ; Ave Maria ; Ascendit Deus ; Hear my prayer, O Lord ; I was glad when they said unto me ; Let mine eyes run down with tears ; Lord, how long wilt thou be angry? ; Remember not, Lord, our offences ; God so loved the world ; I saw the Lord ; Beati quorum via ; Coelos ascendit hodie ; How beauteous are their feet ; I heard a voice from heaven ; Justorum animae ; If ye love me ; Loquebantur variis linguis ; O Lord, give thy Holy Spirit ; O nata lux de lumine ; Dum transisset Sabbatum ; When David heard ; O how amiable ; O taste and see ; Set me as a seal upon thine heart ; Blessed be the God and Father ; Praise the Lord, O my soul ; Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace ; Wash me throughly ; O thou the central orb

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193368415
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9780193368415
  • weight: 717
  • ISBN10: 0193368412
  • edition: Vocal score

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly