American Critical Archives: Eugene O'Neill: The Contemporary Reviews

American Critical Archives: Eugene O'Neill: The Contemporary Reviews

By: Robert M. Dowling (editor), Jackson R. Bryer (editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


This book brings together a generous selection of the contemporary reviews of Eugene O'Neill's plays, from his debut productions by the Provincetown Players and the Washington Square Players in 1916 and 1917, to his great Broadway successes of the 1920s and 1930s, through his 1946 return to Broadway. It includes reviews of his four Pulitzer Prize winners - Beyond the Horizon, Anna Christie, Strange Interlude, and Long Day's Journey Into Night - as well as The Iceman Cometh, A Touch of the Poet, Hughie, and More Stately Mansions. The reviews are reprinted in their entirety, with only plot summaries deleted. Taken as a whole, they document the contemporary reception of the only American playwright to receive the Nobel Prize for Literature and the dramatist responsible for making the American play a serious art form.

About Author

Jackson R. Bryer is Emeritus Professor of English at the University of Maryland. Robert M. Dowling is Professor of English at Central Connecticut State University.


Editorial note; Introduction; Acknowledgments; Bound East for Cardiff (1916); In the Zone (1917); The Long Voyage Home (1917); 'Ile (1918); The Rope (1918); Where the Cross Is Made (1918); The Moon of the Caribbees (1918); The Dreamy Kid (1919); Beyond the Horizon (1920); Chris (1920); Exorcism (1920); The Emperor Jones (1920); Diff'rent (1920); Gold (1921); Anna Christie (1921); The Straw (1921); The First Man (1922); The Hairy Ape (1922); Welded (1924); The Ancient Mariner (1924); All God's Chillun Got Wings (1924); S. S. Glencairn (1924); Desire under the Elms (1924); The Fountain (1925); The Great God Brown (1926); Marco Millions (1928); Strange Interlude (1928); Lazarus Laughed (1928); Dynamo (1929); Mourning Becomes Electra (1931); Ah, Wilderness! (1933); Days without End (1933); The Iceman Cometh (1946); A Moon for the Misbegotten (1947); Long Day's Journey into Night (1956); A Touch of the Poet (1958); Hughie (1964); More Stately Mansions (1967); Index.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780521382649
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 1027
  • ID: 9780521382649
  • weight: 1500
  • ISBN10: 0521382645

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly