European Sacred Music (Oxford Choral Classics Collections Vocal score)

European Sacred Music (Oxford Choral Classics Collections Vocal score)

By: John Rutter (editor)Other Formats

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£15.59 RRP £16.95  You save £1.36 (8%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20


European Sacred Music is a collection of over 50 of the finest examples of sacred choral music from continental Europe, ranging from the sixteenth to twentieth centuries. John Rutter has prepared completely new editions of all the pre-twentieth-century items, going back to the earliest and most reliable manuscript or printed sources. New English singing translations are provided for most pieces, and playable keyboard reductions. Orchestrations are available for hire for the eight accompanied items (Bach: O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht; Buxtehude: Magnificat; Faure: Cantique de Jean Racine; Franck: Panis angelicus; Gabrieli: Jubilate Deo; Mendelssohn: Verleih uns Frieden; Monteverdi: Beatus vir; Mozart: Ave verum Corpus) Some items from this volume are available separately as leaflets in the Oxford Choral Classics Octavo series.

About Author

John Rutter was born in London in 1945 and studied music at Clare College, Cambridge. His compositions embrace choral, orchestral, and instrumental music, and he has edited or co-edited various choral anthologies, including four Carols for Choirs volumes with Sir David Willcocks and the Oxford Choral Classics series. From 1975 to 1979 he was Director of Music at Clare College, and in 1981 he formed his own choir, the Cambridge Singers. He now divides his time between composition and conducting and is sought after as a guest conductor for the world's leading choirs and orchestras.


Miserere ; Christus factus est ; The Lord's Prayer ; O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht, BWV 118 ; Ach, arme Welt, Op. 110 no.2 ; Geistliches Lied, Op. 30 ; Warum ist das Licht, Op. 74 no.1 ; Ave Maria ; Christus factus est ; Locus iste ; Os justi ; Magnificat ; O vos omnes ; Cantique de Jean Racine ; Panis angelicus ; Jubilate Deo a 8 ; O vos omnes ; The Cherubic Hymn ; Ave maris stella ; Ave Virgo sanctissima ; Pater noster ; Dixit Maria ; Crux fidelis ; Ave Maria ; Adoramus te, Christe ; Ave verum Corpus ; Timor et tremor ; Crucifixus a 8 ; Verleih uns Frieden ; Psalm 43 (Richte mich, Gott) ; Beatus vir ; Cantate Domino ; Christe, adoramus te ; Ave verum Corpus ; Exsultate Deo ; Sicut cervus ; Tu es Petrus and Quodcumque ligaveris ; Salve Regina ; Ave Maria ; Abendlied, Op. 69 no. 3 ; Unser lieben Frauen Traum ; O salutaris Hostia ; Psalm 23 ; Psalm 100 ; Selig sind die Toten ; Ave Maria ; Laudate Dominum ; Hymn to the Virgin ; Ave Maria ; Exsultate justi ; Ave Maria a 4 ; Jesu, dulcis memoria ; O quam gloriosum ; O vos omnes

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780193436954
  • Format: Other Formats
  • Number Of Pages: 384
  • ID: 9780193436954
  • weight: 732
  • ISBN10: 0193436957
  • edition: Vocal score

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly