Havergal Brian on Music: Volume Two: Eu... | WHSmith Books
Havergal Brian on Music: Volume Two: European and American Music in his Time (Musicians on Music v. 7)

Havergal Brian on Music: Volume Two: European and American Music in his Time (Musicians on Music v. 7)

By: Havergal Brian (author), Malcolm MacDonald (editor)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


In this second volume of selections from his journalism, written over four decades between 1907 and 1946, the maverick English composer Havergal Brian [1876-1972] directs his enquiring mind at the music being composed in France, Germany, Italy and elsewhere, while he and his British contemporaries were fighting to establish new music at home. Richard Strauss figures prominently among the composers discussed, beginning with reviews of Halle and Queen's Hall concerts in 1907 and 1910. But even Strauss was not treated as lavishly as another whose music clearly fascinated Brian deeply: Arnold Schoenberg. From Gurrelieder to the Violin Concerto, Brian emerges as one of Schoenberg's most sympathetic and understanding champions among the English critical fraternity in the inter-War period. Other composers featured include Bartok, Berg, Busoni, Debussy, Dohnanyi, Dukas, Glazunov, Grieg, Hindemith, Kilpinen, Lehar, Mahler, Messager, Puccini, Rachmaninov, Ravel, Respighi, Shostakovich, Sibelius, Sousa, Stravinsky, Szymanowski, Tailleferre and Varese - as well as figures now obscure such as Alfred Bruneau, August Bungert, Cesar Geloso and Wilhelm Kienzl. Malcolm MacDonald's introductions and annotations provide the background to each piece and cast light on Brian's more obscure references.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780907689485
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 459
  • ID: 9780907689485
  • ISBN10: 0907689485

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly