The early history of Hayes, alongside its neighbouring village of Harlington, is one of agricultural activity. The Industrial Revolution brought the Grand Union Canal in 1794 then the Great Western Railway in 1864. A steady growth of industry followed in and around Hayes, with brick-making especially prevalent in the area, but real expansion began in the twentieth century with the arrival of a diverse range of industries, from electrical technologies and aviation to confectionery. With business booming, it was essential that the new workers had somewhere to live, and so Hayes as we know it today began to grow rapidly.
In the early 1930s Hayes and Harlington were merged with the formation of the Hayes and Harlington Urban District Council. It became part of the London borough of Hillingdon in 1965. Despite its massive growth, Hayes and Harlington still retain a number of historical buildings alongside more modern development, and this unique selection of historical and present-day photographs compiled by local historian Philip Sherwood is a fitting showcase for this fascinating area.
Philip Sherwood is a keen local historian who has lived in Hayes for many years. He is publications editor for the Hayes & Harlington Local History Society, and former chairman of both the local branch of CPRE and the local residents' association.