Heartbreaker

Heartbreaker

By: Claudia Dey (author)Hardback

In Stock

£10.49 RRP £14.99  You save £4.50 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

A missing mother. An isolated community. Three storytellers you will never forget. For fans of The Water Cure and The Girls `A dark star of a book' LAUREN GROFF `I loved its every page' SHEILA HETI In subzero temperatures, mother Billie Jean Fontaine walks out of her bungalow barefoot, takes her husband's truck and drives off into the wilderness alone. She never returns. But no one ever leaves The Territory, a community cut off from the rest of the world, a place warped by its own strange ways where the people believe the year is 1985. Here they live by their own rules - until this woman breaks them. Through the eyes of her unforgettable daughter, Pony Darlene, Billie Jean's violently loyal dog and a watchful teenage boy, Heartbreaker shines an electrifying light on a woman who has risked everything for freedom and love, and left dark secrets in her wake. `Behold the virtuosity of Heartbreaker! Claudia Dey has a perfect ear and the sharpest eye. Her portrait of Pony Darlene Fontaine, and the strange world she inhabits, is devastating, unsparing and unforgettable' MIRIAM TOEWS, author of All My Puny Sorrows `Beautiful... A perfect balancing act of dark and light' CLAIRE CAMERON author of The Bear `Heartbreaker makes high and hilarious art from the emotional pop-rocks and glittery junk of a certain way of being young. And vulnerable. Also, it has one of the most awesome dogs in literature. A thrillingly fun and original novel' RIVKA GALCHEN author of American Innovations

About Author

CLAUDIA DEY is the author of the novel Stunt, a Globe & Mail and Quill & Quire Book of the Year. Her plays have been produced internationally and nominated for the Governor General's and Trillium Book Awards. Dey's writing has appeared in many publications including The Believer and The Paris Review. Dey has also worked as a horror film actress and cook in lumber camps across northern Canada, and is co-designer of Horses Atelier. She lives in Toronto. Heartbreaker is her UK debut.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780008295073
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 288
  • ID: 9780008295073
  • weight: 470
  • ISBN10: 0008295077

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close