How Music Grew in Brooklyn: A Biography of the Brooklyn Philharmonic Orchestra

How Music Grew in Brooklyn: A Biography of the Brooklyn Philharmonic Orchestra

By: Maurice Edwards (author)Hardback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks


While the author Maurice Edwards' history of the Brooklyn Philharmonic centers on this great institution, it also encompasses the greater subject of the vibrant world of music and culture in New York during the second half of the 20th century and the opening decade of the 21st. Edwards begins with a look at the orchestra's 19th-century forerunner and traces the current orchestra's beginnings under its founder and first music director Siegfried Landau. The eras of succeeding music directors Lukas Foss, Dennis Russell Davies, and Robert Spano are examined in detail, as is the evolution of the Brooklyn Philharmonic into the official house orchestra of the equally innovative and influential Brooklyn Academy of Music (BAM). More than two dozen historical photographs and illustrations are included, and an 80-page appendix provides a detailed listing of the orchestra's extraordinary programs, including the famous Marathons.

About Author

Maurice Edwards joined the modern Brooklyn Philharmonic at its inception in 1954. He later served as executive director and artistic director before becoming the official archivist upon his retirement.


Part 1 Acknowledgments Part 2 Prelude Part 3 Introduction Chapter 4 1. Overture, the First Brooklyn Philharmonic: 1857 to 1891 Chapter 5 2. The Siegfried Landau Tenure: 1955 to 1971 Chapter 6 3. The Lukas Foss Regime: 1971 to 1990 Chapter 7 4. The Dennis Russell Davies Interregnum: 1990 to 1996 Chapter 8 5. The Robert Spano Ascendency: 1996 to 2004 Part 9 Coda: May 2004 Part 10 Appendix: Brooklyn Philharmonica Programs (Later: "Brooklyn Philharmonic" Programs) Part 11 Brooklyn Philharmonic Discography Part 12 Bibliography Part 13 Index Part 14 About the Author

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9780810856660
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 416
  • ID: 9780810856660
  • weight: 1393
  • ISBN10: 0810856662

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly