I Predict a Riot

I Predict a Riot

By: Catherine Bruton (author)Paperback

In Stock

£5.59 RRP £7.99  You save £2.40 (30%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25

Description

Explosive, emotional drama from the author of We Can Be Heroes, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. Welcome to Coronation Road - a kaleidoscope of clashing cultures and parallel lives. There's Maggie and her politician mum in their big house. There's Tokes and his mum in a tiny bedsit, running from trouble. And there's the ruthless Starfish gang, breeding fear through the neighbourhood. Amateur film-maker Maggie prefers to watch life through the lens of her camera. In Tokes, she finds a great subject for her new film. And when violence erupts, led by the Starfish gang, Maggie has the perfect backdrop. But as the world explodes around her, Maggie can't hide behind the lens anymore...Catherine Bruton is a major voice in young adult fiction, her prose was described by the Sunday Times as witty, wise and compelling. Readers who enjoyed Robin Talley's Lies We Tell Ourselves will be enthralled by this novel about social and racial tensions, inspired by the London riots. Look out for Catherine's other books: We Can Be Heroes Pop After graduating from the University of Oxford, Catherine Bruton began her career as an English teacher and later went on to write feature articles for The Times and other publications. I Predict a Riot is her third novel for Egmont, following We Can Be Heroes and Pop!, which received high acclaim. Catherine lives near Bath with her husband and two children.

Create a review

About Author

Catherine Bruton was born in the North West, where she attended the local comprehensive before graduating with a first class degree in English Literature from Oxford. In her twenties, she worked in Namibia and South Africa, teaching in bush schools and working with street children in the townships. Catherine then went on to teach at some of the top schools in London and the UK, as well as writing feature articles for 'The Times' and various other national magazines and newspapers. Catherine's first novel for young people 'We Can be Heroes' was published in 2011. Described by The Sunday Times as, "Witty, wise and compelling," and named as one of their top books of 2011, it was short and long-listed for numerous awards, including the Carnegie, and is currently being adapted for the big screen. Her follow up 'Pop!' lead The Guardian to describe her as, "One of the finest teen writers of recent years," whilst her forthcoming book 'I Predict a Riot' which was inspired by the UK riots, 'vividly illustrates the tensions and violence of city life from the perspective of three very different young people trying to make sense of the world they live in,' (The Bookseller) Nowadays Catherine combines teaching English at a local secondary school with writing novels and raising a family. She lives with her husband and their two children in the countryside just outside Bath.

Product Details

  • publication date: 05/06/2014
  • ISBN13: 9781405267199
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 304
  • ID: 9781405267199
  • weight: 216
  • ISBN10: 1405267194

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close