I Wanna Be Me: Rock Music And The Polit... | WHSmith Books
I Wanna Be Me: Rock Music And The Politics Of Identity (Sound Matters)

I Wanna Be Me: Rock Music And The Politics Of Identity (Sound Matters)

By: Theodore Gracyk (author)Paperback

Up to 2 WeeksUsually despatched within 2 weeks

£24.49 RRP £24.99  You save £0.50 (2%) With FREE Saver Delivery


As someone who feels the emotional power of rock and who writes about it as an art form, Theodore Gracyk has been praised for launching "plainspoken arguments destined to change the future of rock and roll," (Publishers Weekly). In I Wanna Be Me, his second book about the music he cares so much about, Gracyk grapples with the ways that rock shapes-limits and expands-our notions of who we can be in the world. Gracyk sees rock as a mass art, open-ended and open to diverse (but not unlimited) interpretations. Recordings reach millions, drawing people together in communities of listeners who respond viscerally to its sound and intellectually to its messages. As an art form that proclaims its emotional authenticity and resistance to convention, rock music constitutes part of the cultural apparatus from which individuals mold personal and political identities. Going to the heart of this relationship between the music's role in its performers' and fans' self-construction, Gracyk probes questions of gender and appropriation. How can a feminist be a Stones fan or a straight man enjoy the Indigo Girls? Does borrowing music that carries a "racial identity" always add up to exploitation, a charge leveled at Paul Simon's Graceland? Ranging through forty years of rock history and offering a trove of anecdotes and examples, I Wanna Be Me, like Gracyk's earlier book, "should be cherished, and read, by rockers everywhere" (Salon).

About Author

Theodore Gracyk is Professor of Philosophy at Minnesota State University, Moorhead, and the author of Rhythm and Noise: An Aesthetics of Rock.


PrefaceAcknowledgmentsIntroduction: The Sex Pistols' "I Wanna Be Me"Part I: Frameworks1. Like a Rolling Stone2. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood: Issues of Meaning3. Heard It through the Grapevine4. You've Really Got a Hold on Me: ParadigmsPart II: Issues of Appropriation5. All You've Got to Do Is Pick It Up6. Don't Play That Song7. Message in the Music8. Speaking in TonguesPart III: Gender9. Act Naturally10. Cosi Fan Tutte Meets Tutti Frutti: Rock Performs Gender11. Rebel Rebel: Proliferating Identities12. Hello Stranger: Reaching the UninitiatedNotesSources of Chapter Titles and SubheadingsIndex

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781566399036
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 328
  • ID: 9781566399036
  • ISBN10: 1566399033

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly