I'Jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody

I'Jaam: An Iraqi Rhapsody

By: Sinan Antoon (author)Paperback

More than 4 weeks availability

£9.99 & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


An inventory of the General Security headquarters in central Baghdad reveals an obscure manuscript. Written by a young man in detention, the prose moves from prison life, to adolescent memories, to frightening hallucinations, and what emerges is a portrait of life in Saddam Hussein's Iraq. In the tradition of Kafka's The Trial or Orwell's 1984, I'jaam offers insight into life under an oppressive political regime and how that oppression works. This is a stunning debut by a major young Iraqi writer-in-exile. Sinan Antoon has been published in leading international journals and has co-directed About Baghdad, an acclaimed documentary about Iraq under US occupation. No choking hazard warning necessary.

Create a review

About Author

Sinan Antoon was born in Baghdad, Iraq. After the 1991 Gulf War, he left Iraq and settled in the US where he studied Arabic Literature at Georgetown and Harvard. His poems and essays (Arabic and English) have been published in leading journals and newspapers in the Arab world, as well as The Nation, al-Ahram Weekly and Middle East Report.

Product Details

  • publication date: 31/05/2007
  • ISBN13: 9780872864573
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 168
  • ID: 9780872864573
  • weight: 142
  • ISBN10: 087286457X

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly