Imperial Guard Cavalry (Napoleon's Last Army)

Imperial Guard Cavalry (Napoleon's Last Army)

By: Paul Dawson (author), Keith Rocco (illustrator), Dana Lombardy (editor)Hardback

1 - 3 days availability

£15.64 RRP £23.00  You save £7.36 (32%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £25


This is a groundbreaking series of books in English by author, re-enactor, and equestrian Paul L. Dawson that use thousands of pages of French archival documents, translations of more than 200 French eyewitness accounts, and dozens of new paintings by Keith Rocco to tell the story of Napoleon's final military operations and his defeat at the battle of Waterloo. Napoleon's Last Army (NLA) is the most comprehensive study ever made of the French army in 1815, using primary source information that provides new insights into this famous campaign. NLA will expose persistent myths and errors about the French forces at Waterloo and in the campaign of 1815.

Create a review

About Author

Paul Dawson is a professional field researcher, archaeologist, and horseman recognized as one of the best cavalry living historians in Europe. In 2003 he was made a Fellow of the International Napoleonic Society in recognition of his research into the armies of Napoleon. Project Editor Dana Lombardy. Dana was an Associate Online Editor for Weider History Group, publisher of Civil War Times and America's Civil War magazines, and he now publishes through his Lombardy Studios. Dana is also known for his nearly twenty television appearances, including multiple episodes of The History Channel's "Tales of the Gun" series. He has contributed as an author, editor, cartographer, graphic artist, and designer on hundreds of books, games, and magazines, and was Publisher of Napoleon Journal from 1996-2000. In 1985 Keith Rocco was proclaimed by the French magazine Uniformes, as an "artist in the tradition of Remington and Detaille." Working with Paul Dawson, as well as his own personal collection of Napoleonic artifacts and research materials, Rocco has created nearly 80 new illustrations of French soldiers in 1815 for this series using the latest archival information on uniforms and equipment plus portraits of some of the men who fought in this pivotal campaign.

Product Details

  • publication date: 28/09/2016
  • ISBN13: 9781940169040
  • Format: Hardback
  • Number Of Pages: 128
  • ID: 9781940169040
  • ISBN10: 1940169046

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly