Implicate & Explicate: Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Implicate & Explicate: Aga Khan Award for Architecture

By: Mohsen Mostafavi (author)Hardback

More than 4 weeks availability


The Aga Khan Award for Architecture was established by His Highness the Aga Khan in 1977 to identify and encourage excellence in architecture in societies where Muslims have a significant presence. The Award is given every three years and recognises all types of building projects that affect today's built environment. The book presents a shortlist of 19 projects including the winners. What these projects have in common is a commitment to design excellence despite constraints of budget, resources, climate, technology, and politics. They share this commitment as one of the necessary tools for societal betterment. The following five projects received the Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2010: Wadi Hanifa Wetlands, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; Revitalisation of the Hypercentre of Tunis, Tunisia; Madinat Al-Zahra Museum, Cordoba, Spain; Ipekyol Textile Factory, Edirne, Turkey; Bridge School, Xiashi, Fujian, China.

Create a review

Product Details

  • publication date: 01/01/2011
  • ISBN13: 9783037782422
  • Format: Hardback
  • Year: 2010
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9783037782422
  • weight: 1197
  • ISBN10: 3037782420

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly