In a Land of Paper Gods by Rebecca Mackenz | WHSmith Books
In a Land of Paper Gods

In a Land of Paper Gods

By: Rebecca Mackenz (author)Paperback

In Stock

£6.11 RRP £8.99  You save £2.88 (32%) & FREE Saver Delivery on orders over £20

Description

Shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize 2017.A brilliantly distinctive debut set in China in the Second World War, IN A LAND OF PAPER GODS by Rebecca Mackenzie will appeal to readers who loved Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit or The Light Between Oceans.Jiangxi Province, China, 1941. Atop the fabled mountain of Lushan perches a boarding school for the children of British missionaries. While her parents pursue their calling, ten-year-old Henrietta S. Robertson discovers that she, too, has been singled out by the Lord.As Japanese invaders draw closer, Etta and her dorm mates retreat into a world where boundaries between make believe and reality become dangerously blurred. So begins a remarkable journey, through a mystical landscape and to the heart of a war.

About Author

Rebecca Mackenzie spent her childhood in Thailand, Malaysia and India. She has MA in Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She lives in London. IN A LAND OF PAPER GODS is her first novel.

Product Details

  • ISBN13: 9781472224224
  • Format: Paperback
  • Number Of Pages: 352
  • ID: 9781472224224
  • weight: 244
  • ISBN10: 1472224221

Delivery Information

  • Saver Delivery: Yes
  • 1st Class Delivery: Yes
  • Courier Delivery: Yes
  • Store Delivery: Yes

Prices are for internet purchases only. Prices and availability in WHSmith Stores may vary significantly

Close